Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT04142437ClinicalTrials.gov

Study to Learn More About the Safety and Effectiveness of the Drug VITRAKVI During Routine Use in Patients With TRK Fusion Cancer Which is Locally Advanced or Spread From the Place Where it Started to Other Places in the Body

PrOspective Non-interventional Study in Patients With Locally Advanced or Metastatic TRK Fusion Cancer Treated With Larotrectinib

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

In this observational study researcher want to learn more about the effectiveness of drug VITRAKVI (generic name: larotrectinib) and how well the drug is tolerated during routine use in patients with TRK fusion cancer which is locally advanced or spread…

Observational150 participants sought76 sites26 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2019-10-29; recorded start 2020-04-03
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Not stated: Whether participants are randomly assigned is not stated in the registry recordNo allocation method is recorded
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Not stated: Whether the study is blinded is not stated in the registry recordNo masking information is recorded
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 203 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Bayer)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 1 condition.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourEXPLORATORY

An exploratory-stage design for a study of this type, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation0/20

    Allocation not stated in the record

  • Blinding0/20

    Masking not stated in the record

  • Control arm0/15

    No comparator arm stated in the record

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 76 sites

  • Data monitoring committee0/7

    No data monitoring committee stated

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleMEDIUM

A medium-sized study, international in scope: 150 participants (target), run at 76 sites, across 26 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment21/40

    150 participants (target)

  • Site count22/25

    76 sites

  • Country count15/15

    26 countries

  • Planned duration10/10

    Planned over about 122 months

  • Sponsor scale9/10

    Bayer has led 201 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

In this observational study researcher want to learn more about the effectiveness of drug VITRAKVI (generic name: larotrectinib) and how well the drug is tolerated during routine use in patients with TRK fusion cancer which is locally advanced or spread from the place where it started to other places in the body. TRK fusion cancer is a term used to describe a variety of common and rare cancers that are caused by a change to the NTRK (Neurotrophic Tyrosine Kinase) gene called a fusion. During this fusion, an NTRK gene joins together, or fuses, with a different gene. This joining results in the activation of certain proteins (TRK fusion proteins), which can cause cancer cells to multiply and form a tumor. VITRAKVI is an approved drug that blocks the action of the NTRK gene fusion. This study will enroll adult and paediatric patients suffering from a solid tumor with NTRK gene fusion for whom the decision to treat their disease with VITRAKVI has been made by their treating physicians. During the study, patients' medical information such as treatment information with VITRAKVI, other medication or treatments, changes in disease status and other health signs and symptoms will be collected within the normal medical care by the treating doctor. Participants will be observed over a period from 24 to 60 months.

Conditions

  • Locally Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumor Harboring an NTRK Gene Fusion

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
AgesNot stated in the registry record
Healthy volunteersNo
Sampling methodNON_PROBABILITY_SAMPLE

Study population

Adult and pediatric (from birth to 18-year-old) patients with a locally advanced or metastatic solid tumor harboring an NTRK gene fusion (detected by NGS (Next-Generation Sequencing), FISH (Fluorescent In Situ Hybridization), rt-PCR (Reverse Transcription Polymerase Chain Reaction) or other genomic testing able to detect NTRK gene fusion) assessed locally for whom a decision to treat with larotrectinib has been made before enrollment

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria: * Adult and pediatric (from birth to 18-year-old) patients * Patients with locally advanced or metastatic solid tumor harboring an NTRK gene fusion. NTRK (NTRK1, NTRK2, and NTRK3) gene fusions will be identified locally. Acceptable methods of detection of NTRK gene fusion include NGS, fluorescence in situ hybridization (FISH), reverse-transcription polymerase chain reaction (rt-PCR) or any other genomic testing able to detect NTRK gene fusion. If a pan-TRK IHC method is used, this result needs to be accompanied with the results using one of the other methods noted above. * Life expectancy of at least 3 months based on clinical judgement * Decision to treat with larotrectinib made by the treating physician prior to study enrollment * Patients can also be enrolled if the initial visit (larotrectinib start date) occurred within 2 months ±3 days prior to informed consent signed date * Signed informed consent form * For patients under legal age, signed assent by the patient (where applicable) and parental/legal guardian signed informed consent is required Exclusion Criteria: * Any contraindications as listed in the local approved product information * Pregnancy * Participation in an investigational program with interventions outside of routine clinical practice * Prior treatment with larotrectinib or other kinase inhibitor with TRK inhibition * Patients with NTRK gene amplification or NTRK point mutation

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeObservational
PhaseNot stated in the registry record
AllocationNot stated in the registry record
Intervention modelNot stated in the registry record
Primary purposeNot stated in the registry record
MaskingNot stated in the registry record
Enrolment150 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • Bayer Sponsor

Arms and interventions

  • GI

    adult patients with gastrointestinal (GI) cancer

  • H&N

    adult patients with head and neck (H\&N) cancer

  • STS

    adult patients with soft tissue sarcoma (STS)

  • CNS

    adult patients with primary central nervous system (CNS) cancer

  • Lung

    adult patients with lung cancer

  • Melanoma

    adult patients with melanoma

  • Pediatric

    all pediatric patients regardless of tumor type will be enrolled under this cohort

  • other

    patients with other tumor types

Interventions

  • Drug larotrectinib(Vitrakvi, BAY2757556)

    In the study, patients treated under local standard of care clinical practice; all decisions in terms of diagnostic procedures, treatments, management of the disease, and resource utilization are fully dependent on mutual agreement between the patient and the attending physician, without interference by the study initiator or study protocol

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Number of participants with treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs)

    Time frame Up to 30 days after last dose

  2. Primary outcome

    Severity of TEAEs

    Time frame Up to 30 days after last dose

  3. Primary outcome

    Seriousness of TEAEs

    Time frame Up to 30 days after last dose

  4. Primary outcome

    Reasonable causal relationship between larotrectinib and an AE

    Time frame Up to 30 days after last dose

  5. Primary outcome

    Causality of TEAEs

    Time frame Up to 30 days after last dose

  6. Primary outcome

    Action taken related to larotrectinib treatment

    Time frame Up to 30 days after last dose

  7. Secondary outcome

    Objective response rate (ORR)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  8. Secondary outcome

    Disease control rate (DCR)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  9. Secondary outcome

    Duration of response (DOR)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  10. Secondary outcome

    Time to response (TTR)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  11. Secondary outcome

    Progression-free survival (PFS)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  12. Secondary outcome

    Overall survival (OS)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  13. Secondary outcome

    Total dose

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  14. Secondary outcome

    Starting and ending dose

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  15. Secondary outcome

    Dose modification during treatment

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  16. Secondary outcome

    Duration of treatment (DOT)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  17. Secondary outcome

    ORR by patient subgroup(s)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  18. Secondary outcome

    DCR by patient subgroup(s)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  19. Secondary outcome

    DOR by patient subgroup(s)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  20. Secondary outcome

    TTR by patient subgroup(s)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  21. Secondary outcome

    PFS by patient subgroup(s)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  22. Secondary outcome

    OS by patient subgroup(s)

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  23. Secondary outcome

    Number of patients with change in height and weight from baseline by visit, neurological abnormalities (normal/abnormal)

    for all patients

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  24. Secondary outcome

    Number of patients with abnormal developmental milestones

    Pediatric cohort only

    Time frame Up to 8 years

  25. Secondary outcome

    Number of patients with abnormal Tanner stage

    Pediatric cohort only

    Time frame Up to 8 years

Dates

Dates
Start dateApril 3, 2020 (actual)
Primary completionNovember 30, 2029 (estimated)
CompletionMarch 31, 2030 (estimated)
First postedOctober 29, 2019 (actual)
Last updatedJuly 7, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedJuly 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

27 sites are recruiting

Argentina

Argentina
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Australia

Australia
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

Austria

Austria
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Belgium

Belgium
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Brazil

Brazil
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

Canada

Canada
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsCompleted

China

China
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Denmark

Denmark
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

Finland

Finland
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

France

France
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Germany

Germany
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Greece

Greece
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

Ireland

Ireland
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

Italy

Italy
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Japan

Japan
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

Luxembourg

Luxembourg
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Norway

Norway
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

Russia

Russia
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

Singapore

Singapore
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

South Korea

South Korea
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Spain

Spain
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Sweden

Sweden
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Switzerland

Switzerland
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsActive, not recruiting

Taiwan

Taiwan
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

United Kingdom

United Kingdom
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Many LocationsMultiple LocationsWithdrawn

United States

United States
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Univ. of Maryland / Greenebaum Comp. Cancer Ctr.BaltimoreMarylandWithdrawn
Johns Hopkins / Sidney Kimmel Cancer CenterBaltimoreMarylandRecruiting
Tufts / Neely Cancer CenterBostonMassachusettsRecruiting
Boston Children's / Dana FarberBostonMassachusettsWithdrawn
Great Lakes Cancer CenterBuffaloNew YorkTerminated
Medical Univ. of South CarolinaCharlestonSouth CarolinaRecruiting
Levine Cancer CenterCharlotteNorth CarolinaWithdrawn
Ohio State Comp. Cancer Ctr. / James Cancer HospitalColumbusOhioWithdrawn
UT Southwestern Medical Center / Children's HealthDallasTexasRecruiting
Detroit Clinical Research CenterFarmington HillsMichiganRecruiting
Fort Wayne Medical Oncology HematologyFort WayneIndianaRecruiting
Frederick Health-James M Stockman Cancer InstituteFrederickMarylandTerminated
SCL HealthGrand JunctionColoradoWithdrawn
East Carolina University / Vidant HealthGreenvilleNorth CarolinaRecruiting
MD Anderson Cancer CenterHoustonTexasRecruiting
Mayo ClinicJacksonvilleFloridaWithdrawn
Gundersen Health SystemLa CrosseWisconsinRecruiting
Sparrow Cancer CenterLansingMichiganRecruiting
Nevada Cancer Research FoundationLas VegasNevadaRecruiting
California Research Inst.Los AngelesCaliforniaRecruiting
USC / Norris Comprehensive Cancer CenterLos AngelesCaliforniaWithdrawn
UCLA - Mattel Children's HospitalLos AngelesCaliforniaRecruiting
SSM Health Cancer Center - Dean Medical GroupMadisonWisconsinTerminated
St. Jude Children's Research HospitalMemphisTennesseeWithdrawn
Banner Desert Medical CenterMesaArizonaWithdrawn

26 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.

A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.