NCT04553770ClinicalTrials.gov
Trastuzumab Deruxtecan Alone or in Combination With Anastrozole for the Treatment of Early Stage HER2 Low, Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
A Phase II, Multicenter, Open-Label Trial to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of Trastuzumab Deruxtecan (DS-8201a) With or Without Anastrozole for HER2 Low Hormone Receptor Positive (HR+) Breast Cancer in the Neoadjuvant Setting
In brief
This phase II trial investigates how well trastuzumab deruxtecan works alone or in combination with anastrozole in treating patients with HER2 low, hormone receptor positive breast cancer. Trastuzumab deruxtecan is a monoclonal antibody, called trastuzumab, linked to a chemotherapy drug…
Phase 288 participants sought9 sites1 country
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT04553770Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 months ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2020-09-17; recorded start 2020-10-09
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 209 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 7 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: other.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 2 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre5/8
Multi-centre: 9 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A small study: 88 participants (target), run at 9 sites.
How this score is built
- Enrolment18/40
88 participants (target)
- Site count11/25
9 sites
- Country count0/15
Single country
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 76 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center has led 210 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This phase II trial investigates how well trastuzumab deruxtecan works alone or in combination with anastrozole in treating patients with HER2 low, hormone receptor positive breast cancer. Trastuzumab deruxtecan is a monoclonal antibody, called trastuzumab, linked to a chemotherapy drug called deruxtecan. Trastuzumab attaches to HER2 expressed at low levels on cancer cells in a targeted way and delivers deruxtecan to kill them. Anastrozole works by decreasing estrogen production and suppressing the growth of tumors that need estrogen to grow. This study is evaluating how effective trastuzumab deruxtecan is at treating hormone receptor positive cancer cells that have low levels of HER2 expressed on them when given alone or in combination with anastrozole.
Conditions
- Early-stage Breast Cancer
- Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Carcinoma
- Stage II Breast Cancer
- Stage IIA Breast Cancer
- Stage IIB Breast Cancer
- Stage III Breast Cancer
- Invasive Breast Cancer
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 2 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 88 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center Sponsor
- Translational Research in Oncology Collaborators
- Daiichi Sankyo Co., Ltd. Collaborators
Arms and interventions
- Arm A (trastuzumab deruxtecan)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Patients receive trastuzumab deruxtecan IV over 90 minutes on cycle 1 day 1 and 30 minutes on day 1 of each subsequent cycle. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then undergo surgery.
- Arm B (trastuzumab deruxtecan, anastrozole)EXPERIMENTAL
Patients receive trastuzumab deruxtecan IV over 90 minutes on cycle 1 day 1 and 30 minutes on day 1 of each subsequent cycle and anastrozole PO QD on days 1-21. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then undergo surgery.
Interventions
- Drug Anastrozole
Given PO
- Procedure Therapeutic Conventional Surgery
Undergo surgery
- Biological Trastuzumab Deruxtecan
Given IV
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Pathologic complete response (pCR) rate
pCR is defined as the absence of invasive cancer in the breast and sampled regional lymph nodes. pCR will be calculated along with the corresponding exact 95% Clopper-Pearson confidence interval (CI).
Time frame Baseline to surgery
Secondary outcome
Biomarker analyses
Gene expression and biomarker assay results are exploratory and will be summarized (e.g. mean change in from baseline to during treatment and to prior to surgery) and correlated with clinical outcomes as appropriate.
Time frame Baseline to surgery
Secondary outcome
Incidence of adverse events
Overall exposure to study drug, the numbers of participants completing each cycle, and the dose intensity will be summarized using descriptive statistics. The number of participants with any dose adjustment will be presented for entire treatment period as well as for each cycle. The number of participants with dose reductions, dose delays, or dose omissions will also be summarized, as will the reasons for dose adjustments. Adverse events and serious adverse events will be reported using a Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0 terminology and severity.
Time frame Starting cycle 1 day 1 (each cycle is 21 days), through study completion, an average of 6 months.
Secondary outcome
Molecular changes in tumor biomarkers including Ki67 expression
Percent change in Ki67 expression from baseline to the core biopsy obtained between cycle 1 day 17 and cycle 1 day 21, and surgery.
Time frame Baseline to surgery
Secondary outcome
Clinical objective response
Clinical objective response rate will be estimated and 95% exact Clopper-Pearson CIs will be provided.
Time frame Baseline to surgery
Other outcome
Quality of life assessment: questionnaire
Will assess quality of life by evaluating toxicity burden using a quality of life/patient reported outcome questionnaire- the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality-of-Life Questionnaire-Core 30 instrument.
Time frame Baseline, day 1 of each cycle (each cycle is 21 days) , at study completion, an average of 6 months.
Dates
| Start date | October 9, 2020 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | December 31, 2026 (estimated) |
| Completion | December 31, 2026 (estimated) |
| First posted | September 17, 2020 (actual) |
| Last updated | November 10, 2025 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | November 2025 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
7 sites are recruiting
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Massachusetts General Hospital | Boston | Massachusetts | Recruiting |
| Ft. Wayne Medical Oncology and Hematology, Inc. | Fort Wayne | Indiana | Withdrawn |
| St. Joseph Heritage Healthcare | Fullerton | California | Recruiting |
| Cancer Blood and Specialty Clinic | Los Alamitos | California | Recruiting |
| UCLA / Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center | Los Angeles | California | Recruiting |
| Orlando Health, Inc. d/b/a Orlando Health UF Health Center | Orlando | Florida | Withdrawn |
| Torrance Memorial Physician Network / Cancer Care | Torrance | California | Recruiting |
| PIH Health | Whittier | California | Recruiting |
| Cancer Center of Kansas | Wichita | Kansas | Recruiting |
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.