NCT05268289ClinicalTrials.gov
Study of Efficacy and Safety of LNP023 in Participants With Active Lupus Nephritis Class III-IV, +/- V
An Adaptive, Randomized, Double-blind, Dose Exploration, Parallel Group, Placebo Controlled, Multicenter Phase 2 Trial to Evaluate the Efficacy, Safety and Tolerability of LNP023 in Combination With Standard-of-care With and Without Oral Corticosteroids in Patients With Active Lupus Nephritis Class III-IV, +/- V
In brief
The overall purpose of this two-part study is to evaluate the efficacy, safety and tolerability of iptacopan (LNP023) in addition to standard of care treatment.
Phase 2240 participants sought103 sites20 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT05268289Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 months ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2022-03-07; recorded start 2022-08-10
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 1128 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Novartis Pharmaceuticals)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 2 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 103 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 240 participants (target), run at 103 sites, across 20 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment23/40
240 participants (target)
- Site count23/25
103 sites
- Country count15/15
20 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 75 months
- Sponsor scale10/10
Novartis Pharmaceuticals has led 1,104 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
The overall purpose of this two-part study is to evaluate the efficacy, safety and tolerability of iptacopan (LNP023) in addition to standard of care treatment.
Conditions
- Lupus Nephritis
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – 100 Years |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 2 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | SEQUENTIAL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Enrolment | 240 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Novartis Pharmaceuticals Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Iptacopan + standard of care (part 1)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Iptacopan + standard of care
- Placebo matching iptacopan + standard of care (part 1)PLACEBO_COMPARATOR
Placebo matching iptacopan standard of care
- Iptacopan + standard of care (part 2)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Iptacopan + standard of care
- Iptacopan + placebo (part 2)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Iptacopan + placebo standard of care
- Placebo matching iptacopan + standard of care (part 2)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Placebo matching iptacopan + standard of care
Interventions
- Drug Iptacopan (part 1)
Taken for 52 Weeks
- Drug Iptacopan (part 2)
Taken for 52 Weeks
- Drug Iptacopan + placebo
Taken for 52 Weeks
- Drug Placebo + standard of care
Taken for 52 Weeks
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Part 1 and 2: Proportion of patients achieving Complete Renal Response (CRR) at week 24 in the absence of renal flares
Part 1: To evaluate the proportion of patients achieving complete renal response with iptacopan treatment "A" plus standard of care, compared to treatment alone Part 2: To evaluate the proportion of patients achieving complete renal response with Iptacopan treatment "B" plus standard of care, compared to treatment "D" alone Part 2: To evaluate the proportion of patients achieving complete renal response with Iptacopan treatment "C" plus standard of care, compared to treatment "D" alone Complete Renal Response is defined as meeting the following criteria: estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) ≥ 90 mL/min/1.73 m2 or no less than 85% of baseline value, and 24h urine protein-to-creatinine ratio (UPCR) ≤ 0.5 g/g.
Time frame Baseline and week 24
Secondary outcome
Change from baseline in BILAG-2004 score at weeks 24 and 52
Measure disease activity
Time frame Weeks 24 and 52
Secondary outcome
Parts 1 and 2: Proportion of patients achieving CRR or PRR in the absence of renal flares
Proportion of patients achieving complete renal response or partial renal response
Time frame Baseline, week 24, week 52
Secondary outcome
Proportion of patients achieving ≥25% UPCR reduction in the absence of renal flares compared to baseline at week 24
Frequency of renal flares between weeks 24 and 52
Time frame Baseline, week 24 week 52
Secondary outcome
Log-transformed ratio to baseline of 24h UPCR at week 24
Dose exposure response for reduction in proteinurea. (each 24h urine protein-to-creatinine ratio value will based on two 24 urine collections sampled within 10 days before the respective study visit)
Time frame Baseline week 24
Secondary outcome
Change from baseline FACIT-Fatigue Score
Measure fatigue in patients
Time frame Weeks 24 and 52
Secondary outcome
Change from baseline in SLEDAI-2K score at weeks 24 and 52
Measure disease activity in SLE
Time frame Weeks 24 and 52
Secondary outcome
Time-to-Complete Renal Response (CRR) based on first morning void(FMV) urine samples
Measurement of time to complete renal response based on urine samples
Time frame Week 24 and Week 52
Dates
| Start date | August 10, 2022 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | March 19, 2026 (actual) |
| Completion | September 28, 2028 (estimated) |
| First posted | March 7, 2022 (actual) |
| Last updated | July 30, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | July 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
39 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Rosario | Santa Fe Province | Withdrawn |
| Novartis Investigative Site | San Luis | Withdrawn | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Santa Fe | Active, not recruiting |
Brazil
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Barretos | São Paulo | Active, not recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Belo Horizonte | Minas Gerais | Completed |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Juiz de Fora | Minas Gerais | Active, not recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Salvador | Estado de Bahia | Active, not recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Salvador | Active, not recruiting | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | São Paulo | São Paulo | Active, not recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | São Paulo | São Paulo | Active, not recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | São Paulo | São Paulo | Completed |
China
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Beijing | Active, not recruiting | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Nanning | Guangxi | Completed |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Shenyang | Liaoning | Recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Shenzhen | Recruiting | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Wuhan | Hubei | Recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Yinchuan | Ningxia | Active, not recruiting |
Colombia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Barranquilla | Atlántico | Active, not recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Bogota | Cundinamarca | Active, not recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Bucaramanga | Santander Department | Active, not recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Montería | Completed |
France
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Marseille | Completed | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Nantes | Recruiting | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Paris | Withdrawn | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Strasbourg | Withdrawn |
Germany
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Berlin | Withdrawn | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Braunschweig | Lower Saxony | Recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Cologne | North Rhine-Westphalia | Recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Frankfurt am Main | Hesse | Withdrawn |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Ludwigshafen | Germany | Withdrawn |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Mainz | Recruiting | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Munich | Bavaria | Withdrawn |
Hong Kong
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Hong Kong | Hong Kong | Active, not recruiting |
Hungary
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Budapest | Recruiting | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Debrecen | Hajdu Bihar Megye | Recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Szeged | Active, not recruiting |
India
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Ahmedabad | Gujarat | Withdrawn |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Hyderabad | Telangana | Recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Kozhikode | Kerala | Recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Lucknow | Uttar Pradesh | Recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | New Delhi | National Capital Territory of Delhi | Recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Puducherry | Withdrawn | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Vellore | Tamil Nadu | Withdrawn |
Israel
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Ashkelon | Withdrawn | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Jerusalem | Withdrawn | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Ramat Gan | Withdrawn |
Malaysia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Kuantan | Pahang | Recruiting |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Selangor Darul Ehsan | Recruiting | |
| Novartis Investigative Site | Taiping | Perak | Recruiting |
Mexico
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novartis Investigative Site | Aguascalientes | Completed |
53 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.