NCT05485961ClinicalTrials.gov
Combined Dose-Finding and CV Outcomes Study With CSL300 (Clazakizumab) in Adult Subjects With ESKD Undergoing Dialysis (POSIBIL6ESKD)
A Phase 2b / 3, Multicenter, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Combined Dose-Finding and Cardiovascular Outcome Study to Investigate the Efficacy and Safety of CSL300 (Clazakizumab) in Subjects With End Stage Kidney Disease Undergoing Dialysis
In brief
This is a two-part, phase 2b and phase 3 combined prospective, interventional, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Part 1: Phase 2b is a dose-finding study for CSL300 vs placebo. Part 2: Phase 3 aims to assess the efficacy of CSL300…
Phase 2 / Phase 33,110 participants sought557 sites35 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT05485961Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced last month
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2022-08-03; recorded start 2022-10-21
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 46 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (CSL Behring)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 548 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 3,110 participants (target), run at 557 sites, across 35 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment34/40
3,110 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
548 sites
- Country count15/15
33 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 80 months
- Sponsor scale6/10
CSL Behring has led 47 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This is a two-part, phase 2b and phase 3 combined prospective, interventional, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Part 1: Phase 2b is a dose-finding study for CSL300 vs placebo. Part 2: Phase 3 aims to assess the efficacy of CSL300 vs placebo on cardiovascular (CV) outcomes and safety in subjects with systemic inflammation and either atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) or diabetes with end stage kidney disease (ESKD) undergoing maintenance dialysis.
Conditions
- End Stage Kidney Disease
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 2 / Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | SUPPORTIVE_CARE |
| Masking | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Enrolment | 3,110 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- CSL Behring Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- CSL300 (low dose)(Phase 2b)EXPERIMENTAL
Intravenous (IV) administration
- CSL300 (medium dose)(Phase 2b)EXPERIMENTAL
IV administration
- CSL300 (high dose)(Phase 2b)EXPERIMENTAL
IV administration
- Placebo (Phase 2b)PLACEBO_COMPARATOR
IV administration
- CSL300 (Phase 3)EXPERIMENTAL
IV administration
- Placebo (Phase 3)PLACEBO_COMPARATOR
IV administration
Interventions
- Drug CSL300
IV administration
- Drug Placebo
Matching the excipient content and concentration of the CSL300 product, minus the active ingredient.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Change from Baseline on the log scale in high-sensitivity C-reactive protein (hs-CRP)(Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Primary outcome
Time to first occurrence of CV death or myocardial infarction (MI) (Phase 3)
Time frame Approximately 5 years
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in iron (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Area under the plasma concentration versus time curve (AUC) for CSL300 (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 24
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in total iron binding capacity (TIBC) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in transferrin saturation (TSAT) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in ferritin (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in Hepcidin (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in hemoglobin (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in erythropoiesis-stimulating agents (ESA) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in erythropoietin-resistance index (ERI) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Percent of participants achieving hs-CRP less than (<) 2.0 milligram per Liter (mg/L) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Week 12
Secondary outcome
Change from baseline in log-transformed hs-CRP (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 24
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in serum amyloid A (SAA) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in secretory phospholipase A2 (sPLA2) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in fibrinogen (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in plasminogen activator inhibitor -1 (PAI-1) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in lipoprotein (Lp) (a) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in albumin (Phase 2b)
Time frame Baseline and up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Peak Plasma Concentration (Cmax) for CSL300 (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 24
Secondary outcome
Trough Plasma Concentration (Ctrough) for CSL300 (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 24
Secondary outcome
Time to Maximum Plasma Concentration (Tmax) for CSL300 (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 24
Secondary outcome
Percent of participants with adverse events (AE), serious AE (SAE), including adverse events of special interest (AESIs) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 32
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in white blood cell (WBC) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in neutrophils (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in platelets (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in total bilirubin (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Mean change from Baseline in lipid panel (Phase 2b)
Lipid panel consists of total cholesterol (TC), low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-C), high-density lipoprotein cholesterol (HDL-C), triglyceride.
Time frame Up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Titer of confirmed antibodies specific to CSL300 (Phase 2b)
Time frame Up to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Time to first occurrence of all-cause death or MI (Phase 3)
Time frame Approximately 5 years
Secondary outcome
Time to first occurrence of CV death, MI, or ischemic stroke (Phase 3)
Time frame Approximately 5 years
Secondary outcome
Time to first occurrence of CV death (Phase 3)
Time frame Approximately 5 years
Secondary outcome
Time to first occurrence of CV death, MI or major adverse limb event (Phase 3)
Time frame Approximately 5 years
Secondary outcome
Time to first occurrence of all-cause death (Phase 3)
Time frame Approximately 5 years
Secondary outcome
Time to first occurrence of CV death, MI, or hospitalization for heart failure (HF) (Phase 3)
Time frame Up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Total number of CV hospitalizations (Phase 3)
Time frame Approximately 5 years
Secondary outcome
Total number of HF hospitalizations and urgent visits (Phase 3)
Time frame Approximately 5 years
Secondary outcome
Total number of hospitalizations (Phase 3)
Time frame Approximately 5 years
Dates
| Start date | October 21, 2022 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | May 22, 2029 (estimated) |
| Completion | May 22, 2029 (estimated) |
| First posted | August 3, 2022 (actual) |
| Last updated | August 11, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | August 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
507 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| FME Lomas de Zamora | Banfield | Recruiting | |
| FME Mansilla | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Instituto de Trasplante De La Ciudad Autonoma De Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| FME Avellaneda | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| FME Cemic Saavedra | Ciudad Autonoma | Recruiting | |
| Fresenius Medical Care - Ciudad Evita | Ciudad Evita | Recruiting | |
| CEREHA | Ciudad de Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Clinica Privada Velez Sarsfield | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| FME Formosa | Formosa | Recruiting | |
| STR Hurlingham SRL | Hurlingham | Recruiting | |
| Nextdial S.A. | Mar del Plata | Recruiting | |
| Fresenius Medical Care - Nostri Centri Dialisi - Moron | Morón | Recruiting | |
| Instituto Medico de la Fundacion de Estudios Clínicos | Rosario | Recruiting | |
| FME San Fernando | San Fernando | Recruiting | |
| Fresenius Tucumán | San Miguel de Tucumán | Recruiting | |
| Clínica de Nefrología, Urología y Enfermedades Cardiovasculares | Santa Fe | Recruiting |
Australia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wide Bay Hospital and Health Service | Bundaberg | Withdrawn | |
| Cairns Hospital | Cairns | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Monash Medical Centre | Clayton | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Austin Hospital | Heidelberg | Recruiting | |
| Liverpool Hospital | Liverpool | Recruiting | |
| Fiona Stanley Hospital | Murdoch | Recruiting | |
| Sunshine Coast University Private Hospital | Nambour | Recruiting | |
| Sunshine Coast University Private Hospital | Nambour | Queensland | Suspended |
| Royal Melbourne Hospital | Parkville | Recruiting | |
| Royal North Shore Hospital (RNSH) | Saint Leonards | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Gold Coast University Hospital | Southport | Recruiting | |
| Sunshine Hospital | St Albans | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Concord Repatriation General Hospital | Sydney | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Fraser Coast Renal Service, Hervey Bay Hospital | Urraween | Recruiting | |
| Sydney Adventist Hospital | Wahroonga | Recruiting | |
| Westmead Hospital | Westmead | Recruiting | |
| Wollongong Renal Unit | Wollongong | Recruiting | |
| Princess Alexandra Hospital | Woolloongabba | Queensland | Suspended |
Austria
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wiener Gesundheitsverbund - Klinik Hietzing | Vienna | Recruiting |
Belgium
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Onze-Lieve-Vrouwziekenhuis VZW | Aalst | Recruiting | |
| Imelda Ziekenhuis | Bonheiden | Recruiting | |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire (CHU) de Charleroi - Hopital Civil Marie Curie | Charleroi | Recruiting | |
| AZ Sint-Lucas | Ghent | Suspended | |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Tivoli | La Louvière | Recruiting | |
| Jan Yperman Ziekenhuis | Leper | Recruiting | |
| Universitair Ziekenhuis Leuven | Leuven | Recruiting | |
| CHR de la Citadelle | Liège | Recruiting | |
| AZ Delta (H.-Hartziekenhuis Roeselare-Menen vzw (HHRM)) - Campus Rumbeke | Roeselare | Recruiting | |
| VITAZ, Department Nierziekten & Dialyse | Sint-Niklaas | Recruiting |
Brazil
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| NUPEC-Nucleo de Pesquisa Clinica | Belo Horizonte | Recruiting | |
| Santa Casa de Misericordia de Belo Horizonte | Belo Horizonte | Recruiting | |
| Hospital Universitário Walter Cantídio (Fortaleza) | Fortaleza | Recruiting | |
| Empresa Brasileira de Serviços Hospitalares (EBSERH) | Goiânia | Recruiting | |
| Fundacao Pro Rim de Santa Catarina | Joinville | Recruiting |
507 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- August 11, 2026
Site added
9 sites added (557 total)
548557