NCT05685433ClinicalTrials.gov
A Real World Study of eCoin for Urgency Urinary Incontinence: Post Approval Evaluation (RECIPE)
In brief
A prospective, multicenter, single-arm study to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the eCoin® implanted tibial nerve stimulator in subjects with urgency urinary incontinence (UUI).
Interventional200 participants sought22 sites1 country
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT05685433Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 months ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2023-01-17; recorded start 2023-01-26
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Not stated: Participants are not randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as non-randomised
- Not stated: A comparison group is not stated in the registry recordThe record describes a single study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Not stated: No other studies from this sponsor are in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Valencia Technologies Corporation)
- Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 4 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
An exploratory-stage design for a study of this type, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation0/20
Allocation not stated in the record
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 22 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study: 200 participants (target), run at 22 sites.
How this score is built
- Enrolment22/40
200 participants (target)
- Site count16/25
22 sites
- Country count0/15
Single country
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 108 months
- Sponsor scale0/10
Valencia Technologies Corporation has led 1 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
A prospective, multicenter, single-arm study to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the eCoin® implanted tibial nerve stimulator in subjects with urgency urinary incontinence (UUI).
Conditions
- Overactive Bladder
- Urge Incontinence
- Incontinence, Urinary
- Urinary Urge Incontinence
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Not applicable |
| Allocation | Not applicable |
| Intervention model | SINGLE_GROUP |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 200 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Valencia Technologies Corporation Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- eCoin Tibial Nerve StimulationEXPERIMENTAL
Subcutaneous stimulation of the tibial nerve using the eCoin device.
Interventions
- Device eCoin Tibial Nerve Stimulation
Subcutaneous stimulation of the tibial nerve using the eCoin device.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Responder Rate
Proportion of subjects achieving at least a 50% improvement in the number of urgency urinary incontinence episodes on a 3-day voiding diary.
Time frame 12 months
Primary outcome
Safety: 12 months rate of all device or procedure related AEs.
Rate of all device or procedure related AEs.
Time frame 12 months
Secondary outcome
Responder Rate
Proportion of subjects achieving at least a 50% improvement in the number of urgency urinary incontinence episodes on a 3-day voiding diary.
Time frame 24 months
Secondary outcome
Safety Data
Rate of all device or procedure related AEs through 24 months post activation of eCoin.
Time frame 24 months
Secondary outcome
Safety data through 7 months post-reimplantation.
Rate of device or procedure-related AEs through 7 months post reimplantation.
Time frame 7 months post reimplantation
Other outcome
Patient reported overactive bladder condition improvement.
Improvement in patient reported overactive bladder condition utilizing the Patient Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) questionnaire.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Patient reported sexual health.
Assess patient reported sexual health using the PROMIS Sexual Function and Satisfaction survey.
Time frame 12 months
Other outcome
Proportion of responders (50% improvement) after 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months of therapy.
Proportion of subjects achieving at least a 50% improvement in the number of urgency urinary incontinence episodes on a 3-day voiding diary.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Proportion of responders (75% improvement) after 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months of therapy.
Proportion of subjects achieving at least a 75% improvement in the number of urgency urinary incontinence episodes on a 3-day voiding diary.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Proportion of responders (100% improvement) after 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months of therapy.
Proportion of subjects achieving at least a 100% improvement in the number of urgency urinary incontinence episodes on a 3-day voiding diary.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Reduction in the number of urgency urinary incontinence episodes.
Reduction in the number of urgency urinary incontinence episodes on a 3-day voiding diary.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Reduction in the number of urgency urinary incontinence episodes for subjects with 8+ voids per day at baseline.
Reduction in the number of urgency urinary incontinence episodes on a 3-day voiding diary for subjects who experience more than 8 voids per day at baseline.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Reduction in urgency episodes.
Reduction in the number of urgency episodes on a 3-day voiding diary.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Reduction in nocturia episodes
Reduction in nocturia episodes on a 3-day voiding diary.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Patient reported qualify of life
Improvement in patient reported qualify of life utilizing the Overactive Bladder Symptom Quality of Life Questionnaire (OABq).
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Patient reported satisfaction with eCoin.
Assess patient-reported satisfaction with eCoin therapy using the custom patient satisfaction rating survey.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Device-related adverse events from implantation.
Rate of device-related adverse events from implantation.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Procedure-related adverse events from implantation.
Rate of procedure-related adverse events from implantation.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Other outcome
Procedure-related adverse events due to suture technique
Rate of procedure-related adverse events occurring as a result of inappropriate suture technique.
Time frame 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months
Dates
| Start date | January 26, 2023 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | March 1, 2027 (estimated) |
| Completion | December 1, 2031 (estimated) |
| First posted | January 17, 2023 (actual) |
| Last updated | January 28, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | April 2025 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
19 sites are recruiting
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Iowa Clinic | Ankeny | Iowa | Recruiting |
| UPNT Research Institute | Arlington | Texas | Recruiting |
| The Emory Clinic | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Rush University | Chicago | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Urological Research Network Corp | Hialeah | Florida | Recruiting |
| Urology Centers of Alabama | Homewood | Alabama | Recruiting |
| The Methodist Hospital Research Institute | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| Baylor College of Medicine | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| University of Iowa | Iowa City | Iowa | Recruiting |
| University of California, Irvine | Irvine | California | Recruiting |
| University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute, Inc | Kansas City | Kansas | Recruiting |
| Arkansas Urology | Little Rock | Arkansas | Recruiting |
| AIR Research | Los Angeles | California | Recruiting |
| USA Health | Mobile | Alabama | Withdrawn |
| Weill Cornell Medicine: Department of Urology | New York | New York | Recruiting |
| The Oregon Clinic | Portland | Oregon | Active, not recruiting |
| Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center | Shreveport | Louisiana | Active, not recruiting |
| Specialty Clinical Research of St. Louis | St Louis | Missouri | Recruiting |
| Stanford Health | Stanford | California | Recruiting |
| Southern Urogynecology | West Columbia | South Carolina | Recruiting |
| Cypress Medical Research | Wichita | Kansas | Recruiting |
| Minnesota Urology | Woodbury | Minnesota | Recruiting |
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.