NCT05712200ClinicalTrials.gov
Study to evaLuate the effIcacy and Safety of abeLacimab in High-risk Patients With Atrial Fibrillation Who Have Been Deemed Unsuitable for Oral antiCoagulation (LILAC-TIMI 76)
A Phase 3, Multicenter, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled, Parallel-group Study to evaLuate the effIcacy and Safety of abeLacimab in High-risk Patients With Atrial Fibrillation Who Have Been Deemed Unsuitable for Oral antiCoagulation (LILAC-TIMI 76)
In brief
A study to evaluate the effect of abelacimab relative to placebo on the rate of ischemic stroke or systemic embolism (SE) in patients with Atrial Fibrillation (AF) who have been deemed by their responsible physicians or by their own decision…
Phase 32,500 participants sought789 sites35 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT05712200Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 months ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Not stated: Registered after enrolment began (about 38 days after the recorded start)First posted 2023-02-03; recorded start 2022-12-27
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 7 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Anthos Therapeutics, Inc.)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding13/20
Double-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type7/10
Clinical-event endpoint
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 789 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration3/5
Registered within 30 days of the study start
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 2,500 participants (target), run at 789 sites, across 35 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment34/40
2,500 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
789 sites
- Country count15/15
35 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 61 months
- Sponsor scale3/10
Anthos Therapeutics, Inc. has led 8 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
A study to evaluate the effect of abelacimab relative to placebo on the rate of ischemic stroke or systemic embolism (SE) in patients with Atrial Fibrillation (AF) who have been deemed by their responsible physicians or by their own decision to be unsuitable for oral anticoagulation therapy.
Conditions
- Atrial Fibrillation (AF)
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 65 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | DOUBLE (2) |
| Enrolment | 2,500 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Anthos Therapeutics, Inc. Sponsor
- Novartis Pharmaceuticals Collaborators
Arms and interventions
- Abelacimab (MAA868)EXPERIMENTAL
Patients will be randomized in a 1:1 ratio to receive abelacimab 150 mg subcutaneous (SC) or matching placebo once monthly.
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
Patients will be randomized in a 1:1 ratio to receive abelacimab 150 mg subcutaneous (SC) or matching placebo once monthly.
Interventions
- Biological Abelacimab
Abelacimab provided as liquid in vial (150 mg/mL)
- Drug Placebo
Dosage Formulation: Liquid (in vial) Dose Strength: Placebo to Abelacimab
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Efficacy: Time to first event of ischemic stroke or systemic embolism (SE)
Undetermined strokes will be counted as ischemic strokes
Time frame Up to 30 months
Primary outcome
Safety: Time to first occurrence of Bleeding Academic Research Consortium (BARC) type 3c/5 bleeding
Time frame Up to 30 months
Secondary outcome
Efficacy: Time to first event of ischemic stroke, systemic embolism (SE), myocardial infarctions (MI), venous thromboembolism (VTE), or acute limb ischemia
Abelacimab versus placebo with regard to the composite of ischemic stroke, SE, MI, VTE, or acute limb ischemia
Time frame Up to 30 months
Secondary outcome
Efficacy: Time to first event of ischemic stroke, systemic embolism (SE), or Bleeding Academic Research Consortium (BARC) type 3c/5 bleeding event
Time frame Up to 30 months
Secondary outcome
Efficacy: Cardiovascular (CV) mortality
Time frame Up to 30 months
Secondary outcome
Efficacy: All-cause mortality
Time frame Up to 30 months
Secondary outcome
Time to first event of ischemic stroke, systemic embolism (SE), myocardial infarctions (MI), venous thromboembolism (VTE), acute limb ischemia, or International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis (ISTH) major bleeding
Abelacimab versus placebo with regard to net clinical outcome defined as the composite of ischemic stroke, SE, MI, VTE, acute limb ischemia, or International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis (ISTH) major bleeding
Time frame Up to 30 months
Dates
| Start date | December 27, 2022 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | December 30, 2027 (estimated) |
| Completion | December 30, 2027 (estimated) |
| First posted | February 3, 2023 (actual) |
| Last updated | July 13, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | July 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
645 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anthos Investigational site 1400 | Bahía Blanca | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1430 | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1411 | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigational site 1446 | Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires F.D. | Recruiting |
| Anthos Investigational site 1443 | Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires F.D. | Recruiting |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1409 | Ciudad Autónoma Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1410 | Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aire | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1423 | Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aire | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigational site 1441 | Ciudadela | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1429 | Coronel Suárez | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1420 | Corrientes | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1431 | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1407 | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1418 | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigational site 1444 | Córdoba | Córdoba Province | Recruiting |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1424 | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1414 | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1427 | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1434 | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1419 | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigational site 1438 | La Plata | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1402 | La Plata | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1417 | Quilmes | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1415 | Ramos Mejía | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigational site 1452 | Salta | Salta Province | Recruiting |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1403 | Salta | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1425 | San Luis | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1426 | San Martin | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigational site 1449 | San Miguel de Tucumán | Tucumán Province | Recruiting |
| Anthos Investigational site 1451 | San Miguel de Tucumán | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1435 | San Miguel de Tucumán | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1404 | San Miguel de Tucumán | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1436 | San Nicolás | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigational site 1445 | Temperley | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Anthos Investigational site 1439 | Villa María | Córdoba Province | Recruiting |
Brazil
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anthos Investigative Site 1518 | Aracaju | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1516 | Belo Horizonte | Withdrawn | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1507 | Belo Horizonte | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1527 | Belo Horizonte | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1528 | Belo Horizonte | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1513 | Blumenau | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1505 | Blumenau | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1535 | Brasília | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1501 | Campina Grande do Sul | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1522 | Campinas | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1503 | Campinas | Withdrawn | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1520 | Campo Grande | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1532 | Canoas | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1526 | Caxias do Sul | Recruiting | |
| Anthos Investigative Site 1542 | Colatina | Recruiting |
739 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.