NCT05812807ClinicalTrials.gov
Pembrolizumab vs. Observation in People With Triple-negative Breast Cancer Who Had a Pathologic Complete Response After Chemotherapy Plus Pembrolizumab
OptimICE-PCR: De-Escalation of Therapy in Early-Stage TNBC Patients Who Achieve pCR After Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy With Checkpoint Inhibitor Therapy
In brief
This phase III trial compares the effect of continuation of treatment with pembrolizumab (usual approach) to observation only at preventing cancer from coming back in patients with early-stage triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) who achieved a pathologic complete response after preoperative…
Phase 31,295 participants sought846 sites3 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT05812807Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 months ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2023-04-14; recorded start 2023-06-14
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Not stated: The record mentions a possible cost to participantsParsed from the study record (summary, description or eligibility text)
To compare patient out-of-pocket costs at approximately 27 weeks between patients randomized to adjuvant pembrolizumab versus observation.
- Present: Sponsor has 95 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 4 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: other.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 842 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 1,295 participants (target), run at 846 sites, across 3 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment31/40
1,295 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
842 sites
- Country count7/15
3 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 121 months
- Sponsor scale7/10
Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology has led 96 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This phase III trial compares the effect of continuation of treatment with pembrolizumab (usual approach) to observation only at preventing cancer from coming back in patients with early-stage triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) who achieved a pathologic complete response after preoperative chemotherapy in combination with pembrolizumab. The usual approach for patients with early-stage TNBC who receive preoperative chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab is to continue to receive pembrolizumab for up to 27 weeks after surgery. Immunotherapy with monoclonal antibodies, such as pembrolizumab, may help the body's immune system attack the cancer, and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. This trial may help researchers determine if observation is as good as receiving pembrolizumab for 27 weeks after surgery in triple-negative breast cancer patients who achieved a pathologic complete response after preoperative treatment with chemotherapy and pembrolizumab.
Conditions
- Anatomic Stage II Breast Cancer AJCC v8
- Early Stage Triple-Negative Breast Carcinoma
- Anatomic Stage IIIA Breast Cancer AJCC v8
- Anatomic Stage IIIB Breast Cancer AJCC v8
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 1,295 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology Sponsor
- National Cancer Institute (NCI) Collaborators
Arms and interventions
- Arm I (pembrolizumab)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Patients receive pembrolizumab IV over 25-40 minutes Q3W or Q6W for 27 weeks. Patients also undergo tumor biopsy and collection of blood throughout the study. Patients also undergo mammography, breast ultrasound or MRI and during follow-up.
- Arm II (observation)EXPERIMENTAL
Patients undergo observation for 27 weeks. Patients also undergo tumor biopsy and collection of blood throughout the study. Patients also undergo mammography, breast ultrasound or MRI during follow-up.
Interventions
- Procedure Biopsy
Undergo biopsy
- Procedure Biospecimen Collection
Undergo collection of blood
- Other Patient Observation
Undergo observation
- Biological Pembrolizumab
Given IV
- Other Quality-of-Life Assessment
Ancillary studies
- Other Questionnaire Administration
Ancillary studies
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Recurrence-free survival (RFS)
Defined as the time from randomization to first invasive local, regional, or distant recurrence or death due to any cause. RFS will be compared between treatment arms using the hazard ratio (with 90% confidence interval and stratified log-rank test) from a stratified Cox model.
Time frame Up to 10 years.
Secondary outcome
Incidence of adverse events (AEs)
Adverse events will be determined using the latest version of the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE). The proportions of patients with a grade 3 or higher AE will be compared between the arms using a chi-square test. A similar analysis will be done to compare the grade 3 or higher irAE rates
Time frame Up to 27 weeks after registration
Secondary outcome
Overall survival
Defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. OS will be compared between treatment arms using the hazard ratio (and stratified log-rank test) from a stratified Cox model
Time frame Up to 10 years.
Secondary outcome
Locoregional recurrence incidence
Defined as the time from randomization to first invasive local or regional recurrence. The cumulative incidence of LRR will be compared between treatment arms using a log-rank test (and estimated using Kaplan-Meier curves).
Time frame Up to 10 years.
Secondary outcome
Radiation adverse events
Radiation adverse events include pneumonitis, hypothyroidism and dermatitis. Radiation AE event rates will be determined for patients who received radiation. The numerator is the number of patients with the radiation AE and the denominator is the number of patients who received radiation. The analysis of the radiation related adverse event rates will only include patients who received radiation treatment. The radiation AE rates will be compared between the two arms using a chi-square test.
Time frame Up to 27 weeks after registration
Dates
| Start date | June 14, 2023 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | May 31, 2033 (estimated) |
| Completion | May 31, 2033 (estimated) |
| First posted | April 14, 2023 (actual) |
| Last updated | August 5, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | August 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
797 sites are recruiting
Canada
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cambridge Memorial Hospital | Cambridge | Ontario | Recruiting |
| BCCA-Cancer Centre for the Southern Interior | Kelowna | British Columbia | Recruiting |
| Kingston Health Sciences Centre | Kingston | Ontario | Recruiting |
| London Regional Cancer Program | London | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Jewish General Hospital | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Ottawa Hospital and Cancer Center-General Campus | Ottawa | Ontario | Recruiting |
| CHU de Quebec-Hopital du Saint-Sacrement (HSS) | Québec | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Allan Blair Cancer Centre | Regina | Saskatchewan | Recruiting |
| Atlantic Health Sciences Corporation-Saint John Regional Hospital | Saint John | New Brunswick | Recruiting |
| Saskatoon Cancer Centre | Saskatoon | Saskatchewan | Recruiting |
| Odette Cancer Centre- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| University Health Network-Princess Margaret Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Centre Hospitalier Regional de Trois-Rivieres | Trois-Rivières | Quebec | Recruiting |
| BCCA-Vancouver Cancer Centre | Vancouver | British Columbia | Recruiting |
Puerto Rico
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Doctors Cancer Center | Manati | Recruiting | |
| PROncology | San Juan | Recruiting | |
| Centro Comprensivo de Cancer de UPR | San Juan | Recruiting | |
| San Juan City Hospital | San Juan | Recruiting |
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Avera Cancer Institute-Aberdeen | Aberdeen | South Dakota | Recruiting |
| Summa Health System - Akron Campus | Akron | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital | Albany | Georgia | Suspended |
| Atrium Health Stanly/LCI-Albemarle | Albemarle | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| University of New Mexico Cancer Center | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Recruiting |
| Presbyterian Kaseman Hospital | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Recruiting |
| Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar Crest | Allentown | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| AdventHealth Altamonte | Altamonte Springs | Florida | Active, not recruiting |
| Community Hospital of Anaconda | Anaconda | Montana | Recruiting |
| Katmai Oncology Group | Anchorage | Alaska | Recruiting |
| UI Health Care Mission Cancer and Blood - Ankeny Clinic | Ankeny | Iowa | Recruiting |
| University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center | Ann Arbor | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Trinity Health Saint Joseph Mercy Hospital Ann Arbor | Ann Arbor | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Luminis Health Anne Arundel Medical Center | Annapolis | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Aspirus Cancer Care-Antigo-Volm Cancer Center | Antigo | Wisconsin | Recruiting |
| ThedaCare Regional Cancer Center | Appleton | Wisconsin | Recruiting |
| Ascension Northeast Wisconsin-Saint Elizabeth Cancer Center-Appleton | Appleton | Wisconsin | Recruiting |
| PCR Oncology | Arroyo Grande | California | Recruiting |
| Mission Hope Medical Oncology - Arroyo Grande | Arroyo Grande | California | Recruiting |
| Cone Health MedCenter Asheboro | Asheboro | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| Cone Health Cancer Center at Asheboro | Asheboro | North Carolina | Suspended |
| Duluth Clinic Ashland | Ashland | Wisconsin | Recruiting |
| OhioHealth O'Bleness Hospital | Athens | Ohio | Recruiting |
| University Cancer and Blood Center LLC | Athens | Georgia | Suspended |
| Emory University Hospital/Winship Cancer Institute | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Emory University Hospital Midtown | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Northside Hospital | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Grady Health System | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Augusta Oncology Associates PC-Wheeler | Augusta | Georgia | Suspended |
| Augusta Oncology Associates PC-D'Antignac | Augusta | Georgia | Suspended |
| Rush-Copley Medical Center | Aurora | Illinois | Recruiting |
796 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- August 5, 2026
Site added
4 sites added (846 total)
842846