NCT06319820ClinicalTrials.gov
A Study to Evaluate TAR-210 Versus Single Agent Intravesical Cancer Treatment in Participants With Bladder Cancer
A Phase 3, Randomized Study Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of TAR-210 Erdafitinib Intravesical Delivery System Versus Single Agent Intravesical Chemotherapy in Participants With Intermediate-risk Non-muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer (IR-NMIBC) and Susceptible FGFR Alterations
In brief
The main purpose of this study is to compare the disease-free survival between participants receiving treatment with TAR-210 versus investigator's choice of intravesical chemotherapy for treatment of intermediate-risk NMIBC.
Phase 3641 participants sought193 sites20 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06319820Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 3 weeks ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-03-20; recorded start 2024-04-18
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 228 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Janssen Research & Development, LLC)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 193 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 641 participants (target), run at 193 sites, across 20 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment28/40
641 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
193 sites
- Country count15/15
20 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 106 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Janssen Research & Development, LLC has led 226 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
The main purpose of this study is to compare the disease-free survival between participants receiving treatment with TAR-210 versus investigator's choice of intravesical chemotherapy for treatment of intermediate-risk NMIBC.
Conditions
- Non-Muscle Invasive Bladder Neoplasms
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 641 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Janssen Research & Development, LLC Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Main Study: Group A: TAR-210EXPERIMENTAL
Participants in Group A will have TAR-210 inserted in the bladder on Day 1 and removed after 12 weeks. One TAR-210 will be inserted every 12 weeks over a treatment period of approximately 1 year.
- Main Study: Group B: MMC or GemcitabineACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Participants in Group B will receive intravesical mitomycin C (MMC) or gemcitabine (investigator's choice) once weekly for 4 to 6 induction doses followed by a maintenance phase for a minimum of 6 months and up to 1 year.
- Substudy: Group A: TAR-210EXPERIMENTAL
Participants in Group A will have TAR-210 inserted in the bladder on Day 1 and removed after 12 weeks. One TAR-210 will be inserted every 12 weeks over a treatment period of approximately 1 year.
- Substudy: Group B: MMCACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Participants in substudy Group B will receive intravesical MMC once weekly for 4 to 6 induction doses followed by a maintenance phase for a minimum of 6 months and up to 1 year.
Interventions
- Drug Gemcitabine
Gemcitabine will be administered intravesically.
- Drug MMC
MMC will be administered intravesically.
- Combination product TAR-210
TAR-210 will be administered intravesically.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Disease Free Survival (DFS)
DFS is measured as the time from randomization to the date of the first documented recurrence of Ta non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) of any grade, disease progression, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.
Time frame From randomization to the date of the first documented recurrence, disease progression or death (approximately 4 years and 2 months)
Secondary outcome
Time to next Treatment (TTNT)
TTNT is measured as the time from randomization to the date of first documented subsequent treatment (local, systemic, surgical, or interventional) for bladder cancer.
Time frame From randomization to the date of first documented subsequent treatment (local, systemic, surgical, or interventional) for bladder cancer (approximately 4 years and 2 months)
Secondary outcome
High Grade Recurrence-free Survival (HG RFS)
HG RFS is measured as the time from randomization to the date of first documented evidence of HG NMIBC or death, whichever occurs first
Time frame From randomization to the date of first documented evidence of HG NMIBC or death (approximately 4 years and 2 months)
Secondary outcome
Progression Free Survival (PFS)
PFS is measured as the time from randomization to the date of first documented evidence of disease progression or death, whichever occurs first.
Time frame From randomization to the date of first documented disease progression or death (approximately 4 years and 2 months)
Secondary outcome
Number of Diagnostic and Therapeutic Invasive Urological Interventions after Study Treatment
Number of diagnostic and therapeutic invasive urological interventions after study treatment, that is, endoscopic procedures (e.g., cystoscopies, transurethral resection of bladder tumors (TURBTs), ureteroscopies, urethral interventions, urethral stricture/bladder neck incision), catheterization (intravesical, suprapubic), intravesical treatments, major surgeries (e.g., radical cystectomy, simple cystectomy, urethroplasty) will be reported.
Time frame From study treatment completion up to trial discontinuation (approximately 4 years and 2 months)
Secondary outcome
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (Including Physical Examination, Vital Signs and Laboratory Abnormalities)
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a participant participating in a clinical study participant administered a pharmaceutical (investigational or non-investigational) product, that does not necessarily have a causal relationship with the treatment. AEs will be evaluated according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0. Severity of AEs has 5 grades based on CTCAE criteria: Grade 1: Mild; Grade 2: Moderate; Grade 3: Severe; Grade 4: Life-threatening and Grade 5: Death. Number of participants with adverse events (including physical examination, vital signs and laboratory abnormalities) will be reported.
Time frame From first dose up to 30 days after last dose of study treatment (approximately 4 years and 2 months)
Secondary outcome
Overall Survival (OS)
OS is defined as the time from randomization to the date of death from any cause.
Time frame From randomization to the date of death (approximately 4 years and 2 months)
Secondary outcome
European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer-Quality of Life Questionnaire Core-30 items (EORTC-QLQ-C30) Scores
EORTC QLQ-C30 is a core 30-item questionnaire for evaluating the health-related quality of life (HRQoL) of participants participating in cancer clinical studies. It incorporates 5 functional scales (physical, role, cognitive, emotional, and social functioning), 3 symptom scales (fatigue, pain, and nausea or vomiting), and a global health status or HRQoL scale. Ratings for each item range from 1 (not at all) to 4 (very much). Higher scores indicated greater severity.
Time frame Baseline, Weeks 6, 12, 24, 36, and 48
Secondary outcome
European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer-Quality of Life Questionnaire for Non muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer (EORTC-QLQ-NMIBC24) Scores
EORTC QLQ-NMIBC24 is a 24-item questionnaire for evaluating the HRQoL of participants with non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer. The questionnaire is designed to supplement the QLQ C30 and incorporates 6 multi-item scales and 5 single items. Ratings for each item range from 1 (not at all) to 4 (very much). Higher scores indicated greater severity.
Time frame Baseline, Weeks 6, 12, 24, 36, and 48
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants With Significant Change From Baseline in EORTC-QLQ-C30 Scores
EORTC QLQ-C30 is a core 30-item questionnaire for evaluating the HRQoL of participants participating in cancer clinical studies. It incorporates 5 functional scales (physical, role, cognitive, emotional, and social functioning), 3 symptom scales (fatigue, pain, and nausea or vomiting), and a global health status or HRQoL scale. Ratings for each item range from 1 (not at all) to 4 (very much). Higher scores indicated greater severity.
Time frame Weeks 6, 12, 24, 36, and 48
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants With Significant Change From Baseline in EORTC-QLQ-NMIBC24 Scores
EORTC QLQ-NMIBC24 is a 24-item questionnaire for evaluating the HRQoL of participants with non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer. The questionnaire is designed to supplement the QLQ C30 and incorporates 6 multi-item scales and 5 single items. Ratings for each item range from 1 (not at all) to 4 (very much). Higher scores indicated greater severity.
Time frame Weeks 6, 12, 24, 36, and 48
Dates
| Start date | April 18, 2024 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | June 28, 2028 (estimated) |
| Completion | December 31, 2032 (estimated) |
| First posted | March 20, 2024 (actual) |
| Last updated | August 28, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | August 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
83 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital Sirio Libanes | Buenos Aires | Active, not recruiting | |
| Investigaciones Clinico Moleculares (ICM) | CABA | Active, not recruiting | |
| Cemaic Centro Privado de Especialidades Medicas Ambulatorias e Investigacion Clinica | Córdoba | Active, not recruiting | |
| Centro Urologico Profesor Bengio | Córdoba | Active, not recruiting | |
| Hospital Privado de la Comunidad | Mar del Plata | Active, not recruiting | |
| Sanatorio de la Mujer | Rosario | Active, not recruiting |
Austria
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medizinische Universitaet Graz | Graz | Recruiting | |
| Medizinische Universitat Innsbruck | Innsbruck | Recruiting | |
| Ordensklinikum Linz GmbH Elisabethinen | Linz | Recruiting | |
| Universitaetsklinikum Salzburg Landeskrankenhaus | Salzburg | Recruiting | |
| Medical University Vienna MUV | Vienna | Recruiting |
Belgium
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| AZORG campus Aalst Moorselbaan | Aalst | Recruiting | |
| AZ Sint-Jan | Bruges | Recruiting | |
| UZ Antwerpen | Edegem | Completed | |
| AZ Maria Middelares | Ghent | Recruiting | |
| Universitair Ziekenhuis Gasthuisberg | Leuven | Active, not recruiting | |
| Vitaz | Sint-Niklaas | Recruiting | |
| CHU UCL Namur - Site Godinne | Yvoir | Recruiting |
Brazil
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fundacao Pio XII | Barretos | Active, not recruiting | |
| Universidade Estadual De Campinas | Campinas | Completed | |
| Liga Norte Riograndense Contra O Cancer | Natal | Active, not recruiting | |
| Hospital Moinhos de Vento | Porto Alegre | Active, not recruiting | |
| Irmandade Santa Casa de Misericordia de Porto Alegre | Porto Alegre | Active, not recruiting | |
| HBA SA Assitencia Medica e Hospitalar | Salvador | Active, not recruiting | |
| Cepes - Fmabc | São Paulo | Active, not recruiting | |
| Fundacao Antonio Prudente A C Camargo Cancer Center | São Paulo | Completed | |
| Irmandade Santa Casa de Misericordia de Sao Paulo | São Paulo | Active, not recruiting | |
| Fundacao Faculdade de Medicina - Instituto do Cancer do Estado de Sao Paulo | São Paulo | Active, not recruiting | |
| Real e Benemérita Associação Portuguesa de Beneficência | São Paulo | Active, not recruiting |
China
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peking University Third Hospital | Beijing | Active, not recruiting | |
| Beijing Friendship Hospital Capital Medical University | Beijing | Active, not recruiting | |
| Hunan Cancer hospital | Changsha | Active, not recruiting | |
| West China School of Medicine/West China Hospital, Sichuan University | Cheng Du Shi | Active, not recruiting | |
| The Third People's Hospital of Chengdu | Cheng Du Shi | Active, not recruiting | |
| Chongqing Cancer Hospital | Chongqing | Active, not recruiting | |
| Fujian Medical University Union Hospital | Fuzhou | Active, not recruiting | |
| Sun Yat Sen University Cancer Center | Guangzhou | Active, not recruiting | |
| Zhongda Hospital Southeast University | Nanjing | Active, not recruiting | |
| Nanjing Drum Tower Hospital | Nanjing | Active, not recruiting | |
| Huadong Hospital Affiliated to Fudan University | Shanghai | Active, not recruiting | |
| The Second Hospital Of Tianjin Medical University | Tianjin | Active, not recruiting | |
| The First Affiliated Hospital of Wenzhou Medical University | Wenzhou | Active, not recruiting | |
| Tongji Hospital Tongji Medical College of Huazhong University of Science and Technology | Wuhan | Active, not recruiting | |
| The First Affiliated Hospital of Xian Jiaotong University | Xi'an | Active, not recruiting | |
| The Affiliated Hospital of Xuzhou Medical University | Xuzhou | Active, not recruiting | |
| Cancer Hospital of Xinjiang Medical University | Ürümqi | Active, not recruiting |
Czechia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fakultni nemocnice Hradec Kralove | Hradec Králové | Completed | |
| Fakultni nemocnice Olomouc | Olomouc | Recruiting | |
| Vseobecna fakultni nemocnice v Praze | Prague | Recruiting | |
| Fakultni Thomayerova nemocnice | Prague | Recruiting |
143 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.