NCT06581328ClinicalTrials.gov
A Study of Vedolizumab in Adults With Ulcerative Colitis (UC) or Crohn's Disease (CD) in the Community Setting
A Phase 4 Study Evaluating Moderate to Severely Active Ulcerative Colitis or Crohn's Disease and the Use of Vedolizumab Subcutaneous Within a Community Setting
In brief
Ulcerative Colitis (UC) and Crohn's Disease (CD) are long-term conditions in the gut that can cause diarrhea, swelling (inflammation), bleeding from the anus, and belly pain. The main aim of this study is to check for how many participants with…
Phase 4200 participants sought101 sites1 country
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06581328Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 5 days ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-09-03; recorded start 2025-03-27
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Not stated: Participants are not randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as non-randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 194 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Takeda)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 2 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
An exploratory-stage design for a phase 4 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation0/20
Non-randomised allocation
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 101 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study: 200 participants (target), run at 101 sites.
How this score is built
- Enrolment25/40
400 participants (target)
- Site count23/25
101 sites
- Country count0/15
Single country
- Planned duration8/10
Planned over about 39 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Takeda has led 192 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
Ulcerative Colitis (UC) and Crohn's Disease (CD) are long-term conditions in the gut that can cause diarrhea, swelling (inflammation), bleeding from the anus, and belly pain. The main aim of this study is to check for how many participants with UC and CD signs and symptoms disappear after 3.5 months (14 weeks) of treatment with Vedolizumab (this is called remission). Participants will be treated with Vedolizumab for approximately 1 year (50 weeks). During the first 1.5 months (6 weeks), participants will receive Vedolizumab as an infusion in the vein (called intravenously). After this, participants will receive Vedolizumab as an injection under the skin (called subcutaneously) for the rest of the treatment. Participants for whom the treatment does not seem to work well after 3.5 months (14 weeks) will stop treatment with Vedolizumab and can change to another treatment and also there will be additional required visits at 6 months (26 weeks) and at 1 year (52 weeks). All participants will be checked again 4.5 months (18 weeks) after their last treatment with Vedolizumab. During the study, participants will visit their study clinic several times.
Conditions
- Ulcerative Colitis
- Crohn's Disease
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – 80 Years |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 4 |
| Allocation | Non-randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 200 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Takeda Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- UC Participants: VedolizumabEXPERIMENTAL
Participants with moderate to severely active UC will receive vedolizumab 300 milligrams (mg), intravenous (IV) infusion at Weeks 0 and 2. Following the first 2 vedolizumab IV doses, participant may be switched to vedolizumab 108 mg subcutaneous (SC) injection at Week 6, to be administered every 2 weeks until Week 50. Treating health care practitioner (HCP) may give an additional dose of vedolizumab IV at Week 6 with mandatory transition by Week 14.
- CD Participants: VedolizumabEXPERIMENTAL
Participants with moderate to severely active CD will receive vedolizumab 300 mg, IV infusion at Weeks 0 and 2. Following the first 2 vedolizumab IV doses, participant may be switched to vedolizumab 108 mg SC injection at Week 6, to be administered every 2 weeks until Week 50. Treating HCP may give an additional dose of vedolizumab IV at Week 6 with mandatory transition by Week 14.
Interventions
- Drug Vedolizumab IV
Vedolizumab IV infusion
- Drug Vedolizumab SC
Vedolizumab SC injection
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Percentage of CD Participants With 2-item Patient-reported Outcome Measure (PRO-2) Remission at Week 14
PRO-2 remission is defined as 7-day average of very soft or liquid stool frequency (SF) less than and equal to (\<=) 2.8, 7-day average of abdominal pain (AP) score \<= 1.0, and neither worse than baseline.
Time frame At Week 14
Primary outcome
Percentage of UC Participants With PRO-2 Remission at Week 14
PRO-2 remission is defined as Mayo rectal bleeding sub-score of 0 and stool frequency sub-score \<=1.
Time frame At Week 14
Secondary outcome
Percentage of CD and UC Participants With PRO-2 Remission at Weeks 6 and 52
PRO-2 remission for CD participants is defined as 7-day average of very soft or liquid SF \<= 2.8, 7-day average of AP score \<= 1.0, and neither worse than baseline. PRO-2 remission for UC participants is defined as Mayo rectal bleeding sub-score of 0 and stool frequency sub-score \<=1.
Time frame At Weeks 6 and 52
Secondary outcome
Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Clinical Response at Weeks 6, 14, and 52
CD clinical response is defined as greater than and equal to (\>=) 100 points decrease from baseline in CDAI score. UC clinical response is defined as reduction in complete Mayo score of \>=3 points and \>=30 percent (%) from baseline with an accompanying decrease in rectal bleeding sub-score of \>=1 point or absolute rectal bleeding sub-score of \<=1 point or an absolute rectal bleeding sub-score of \<=1 point, or a reduction in partial Mayo score of \>=2 points and \>=25% from baseline, if complete Mayo score was not performed at visit.
Time frame At Weeks 6, 14, and 52
Secondary outcome
Percentage of CD Participants With Endoscopic Response at Week 52
Endoscopic response is defined as a \>=50% reduction from baseline in Simple Endoscopic Score for Crohn's Disease (SES-CD) score. SES-CD evaluates 4 endoscopic variables: the intestinal surface affected by ulcers, the intestinal surface affected by other inflammatory lesions, the presence of ulcers, and the presence of narrowing.
Time frame At Week 52
Secondary outcome
Percentage of CD Participants Achieving Endoscopic Remission at Week 52
Endoscopic remission as per SES-CD is defined as a SES-CD score of 0 to 4, with no individual sub-score greater than 1. SES-CD evaluates 4 endoscopic variables: the intestinal surface affected by ulcers, the intestinal surface affected by other inflammatory lesions, the presence of ulcers, and the presence of narrowing.
Time frame At Week 52
Secondary outcome
Percentage of UC Participants With Improvement of Endoscopic Appearance of the Mucosa at Week 52
Improvement of endoscopic appearance of the mucosa is defined as Modified Mayo endoscopic sub-score (MMES) of 0 or 1.
Time frame At Week 52
Secondary outcome
Percentage of UC Participants With Endoscopic Remission at Week 52
Endoscopic remission is defined as a centrally read complete Mayo endoscopy sub-score of 0.
Time frame At Week 52
Secondary outcome
Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Clinical Remission at Weeks 6, 14, and 52
Clinical Remission for CD is defined as a CDAI \<150 point. Clinical remission for UC is defined as complete MS of \<=2 points and no participant sub-score greater than (\>) 1 point or defined as a partial Mayo score (stool frequency, rectal bleeding, physician's global assessment \[PGA\]) score of \<=2 and no individual sub-score \>1.
Time frame At Weeks 6, 14, and 52
Secondary outcome
Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Clinical Remission at Week 52
Clinical remission for CD is defined as a CDAI \<150 point. Clinical remission for UC is defined as complete MS of \<=2 points and no participant sub-score \>1 point or defined as a partial Mayo score (stool frequency, rectal bleeding, PGA) score of \<=2 and no individual sub-score \>1. Percentage of CD and UC participants with clinical remission at Week 52, among those participants who achieved clinical remission at Week 6 and 14 will be reported.
Time frame At Week 52
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in C-reactive Protein (CRP) levels of CD and UC Participants at Weeks 6, 14, 26, and 52
Change from baseline in CRP levels of CD and UC participants at Weeks 6, 14, 26, and 52 will be reported.
Time frame Baseline, Weeks 6, 14, 26, and 52
Secondary outcome
Change From Baseline in Fecal Calprotectin Concentrations of CD and UC participants at Weeks 6, 14, and 52
Change from baseline in fecal calprotectin concentrations of CD and UC participants at Weeks 6, 14, and 52 will be reported.
Time frame Baseline, Weeks 6, 14, and 52
Secondary outcome
Percentage of CD and UC Participants With Serious Infections
Percentage of CD and UC participants with serious infections will be reported.
Time frame Up to end of study (up to 72 weeks)
Dates
| Start date | March 27, 2025 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | May 1, 2027 (estimated) |
| Completion | June 1, 2028 (estimated) |
| First posted | September 3, 2024 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 15, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | September 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
78 sites are recruiting
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Presbyterian Health care services | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Withdrawn |
| Digestive Healthcare of Georgia | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| AGA GA Research LLC | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Baton Rouge General Medical Center - Bluebonnet Campus | Baton Rouge | Louisiana | Recruiting |
| GI Alliance | Bellevue | Washington | Recruiting |
| Gastro Health | Birmingham | Alabama | Recruiting |
| SSM Health Medical Group | Bridgeton | Missouri | Recruiting |
| Access Research Institute | Brooksville | Florida | Recruiting |
| Westchester Putnam Gastroenterology PC | Carmel | New York | Recruiting |
| Five Towns Gastroenterology | Cedarhurst | New York | Recruiting |
| AZ Gastro Care | Chandler | Arizona | Recruiting |
| Charlotte Gastroenterology and Hepatology, P.L.L.C | Charlotte | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| Capital Digestive Care | Chevy Chase | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Gastro Health Research - Cincinnati | Cincinnati | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Gastro Florida | Clearwater | Florida | Recruiting |
| Peak Gastroenterology Associates | Colorado Springs | Colorado | Recruiting |
| GI Associates Research, LLC | Columbia | Missouri | Recruiting |
| Tri-State Gastroenterology Associates | Crestview Hills | Kentucky | Recruiting |
| DSI Research Northridge LLC | Dayton | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Atlanta Center for Gastroenterology, P.C. | Decatur | Georgia | Withdrawn |
| Yapp, Rockford M.D. (Private Practice) | Downers Grove | Illinois | Recruiting |
| The Clinical Trials Network CTNX LLC | El Paso | Texas | Recruiting |
| IMIDeology | Elmhurst | New York | Recruiting |
| Gastroenterology and Liver Institute | Escondido | California | Recruiting |
| Gastro Health Research - Framingham | Framingham | Massachusetts | Recruiting |
| Intercity Gastroenterology | Fresh Meadows | New York | Recruiting |
| Amel Med LLC | Georgetown | Texas | Recruiting |
| Spectrum Research Institute LLC | Gilbert | Arizona | Recruiting |
| Woodholme Gastroenterology | Glen Burnie | Maryland | Recruiting |
| GI Alliance - Glenview | Glenview | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Carolina Digestive Diseases | Greenville | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| Doral Medical Research, LLC | Hialeah | Florida | Withdrawn |
| Integrity Advanced Therapeutics | Houston | Texas | Withdrawn |
| Kelsey Research Foundation | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| MedCare Pharma LLC | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| Spring Clinical Research | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| Hutchinson Clinic | Hutchinson | Kansas | Recruiting |
| Mid America Gastro Intestinal Consultants | Kansas City | Missouri | Recruiting |
| Gastro Health & Nutrition | Katy | Texas | Recruiting |
| Tri-Cities Gastroenterology | Kingsport | Tennessee | Recruiting |
| One of a Kind Clinical Research Center LLC | Kingwood | Texas | Recruiting |
| Digestive and Liver Center of Florida, P.A. | Kissimmee | Florida | Recruiting |
| Combined Gastro LLC | Lafayette | Louisiana | Recruiting |
| Gastroenterology and Internal Medicine Specialists, SC | Lake Barrington | Illinois | Recruiting |
| NYU Langone Long Island Clinical Research Associates | Lake Success | New York | Withdrawn |
| Gastro Health Research - Liberty Township | Liberty Township | Ohio | Recruiting |
| UAMS Health Gastroenterology Clinic | Little Rock | Arkansas | Withdrawn |
| Rocky Mountain Endocopy Centers LLC | Littleton | Colorado | Recruiting |
| West Texas Research Institute | Lubbock | Texas | Recruiting |
| Great Lakes Gastroenterology Research, LLC | Mentor | Ohio | Recruiting |
51 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- September 15, 2026
Completion date moved earlier
Primary completion advanced 153 days
2027-10-012027-05-01
- September 15, 2026
Enrolment target changed
Enrollment target revised down from 400 to 200
400200