Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT06628908ClinicalTrials.gov

Evaluation of Efficacy and Safety of Suzetrigine for Pain Associated With Diabetic Peripheral Neuropathy

A Phase 3, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo- and Active-Controlled Study of the Efficacy and Safety of Suzetrigine in Subjects With Pain Associated With Diabetic Peripheral Neuropathy

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy, safety, and tolerability of Suzetrigine (SUZ) in participants with pain associated with diabetic peripheral neuropathy (DPN).

Phase 31,100 participants sought76 sites1 country

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Not stated: Registered after enrolment began (about 7 days after the recorded start)First posted 2024-10-08; recorded start 2024-10-01
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 92 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 1 condition.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourDEFINITIVE

A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding20/20

    Quadruple-blind

  • Control arm15/15

    Active-comparator control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 76 sites

  • Data monitoring committee0/7

    Data monitoring committee not stated in the record

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleLARGE

A large study: 1,100 participants (target), run at 76 sites.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment30/40

    1,100 participants (target)

  • Site count22/25

    76 sites

  • Country count0/15

    Single country

  • Planned duration8/10

    Planned over about 32 months

  • Sponsor scale7/10

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated has led 90 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy, safety, and tolerability of Suzetrigine (SUZ) in participants with pain associated with diabetic peripheral neuropathy (DPN).

Conditions

  • Diabetic Peripheral Neuropathic Pain

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 Years80 Years
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Key Inclusion Criteria: * Body weight greater than or equal to (≥) 45 kilogram (kg) * Body mass index (BMI) ≥18.0 to less than (\<) 40.0 kilogram per meter square (kg/m\^2) * Diagnosis of diabetes mellitus type 1 or type 2 by glycosylated hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c) ≤9% and the presence of bilateral pain in lower extremities due to DPN * Weekly average of daily NPRS score ≥4 and less than or equal to (≤) 9 with limited variation in the 7-day Baseline Period Key Exclusion Criteria: * More than 3 missing daily NPRS scores during the 7-day Baseline Period * Any sensory abnormality (excluding DPN) as pre-specified in the protocol Other protocol defined Inclusion/Exclusion criteria may apply.

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingQUADRUPLE (4)
Enrolment1,100 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Sponsor

Arms and interventions

  • Suzetrigine (SUZ)EXPERIMENTAL

    Participants will be randomized to receive SUZ.

  • PregabalinACTIVE_COMPARATOR

    Participants will be randomized to receive Pregabalin.

  • PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR

    Participants will be randomized to receive placebo matched to SUZ and Pregabalin.

Interventions

  • Drug Placebo (matched to Pregabalin)

    Placebo matched to Pregabalin for oral administration.

  • Drug Placebo (matched to SUZ)

    Placebo matched to SUZ for oral administration.

  • Drug Pregabalin

    Capsules for oral administration.

  • Drug Suzetrigine

    Tablets for oral administration.

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Change From Baseline in the Weekly Average of Daily Pain Intensity on the Numeric Pain Rating Scale (NPRS) at Week 12 Compared to Placebo

    Time frame From Baseline up to Week 12

  2. Secondary outcome

    Change From Baseline in the Medical Outcomes Study 36-item Short-form Health Status (SF 36v2) Physical Component Summary (PCS) Score at Week 12 Compared to Placebo (pooled with data from Study VX24-548-111)

    Time frame From Baseline up to Week 12

  3. Secondary outcome

    Change From Baseline in the Weekly Average of Daily Pain Intensity on the NPRS at Week 12 Compared to Pregabalin

    Time frame From Baseline up to Week 12

Dates

Dates
Start dateOctober 1, 2024 (actual)
Primary completionMay 31, 2027 (estimated)
CompletionMay 31, 2027 (estimated)
First postedOctober 8, 2024 (actual)
Last updatedJune 15, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedJune 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

59 sites are recruiting

United States

United States
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Albany Medical CollegeAlbanyNew YorkCompleted
Velocity Clinical Research - AlbuquerqueAlbuquerqueNew MexicoRecruiting
Synexus Clinical Research- AndersonAndersonSouth CarolinaCompleted
Pinnacle Research Group, LLCAnnistonAlabamaRecruiting
Velocity Clinical Research - Baton RougeBaton RougeLouisianaRecruiting
Velocity Clinical Research - ClevelandBeachwoodOhioRecruiting
Northwest Clinical Research Center (NWCRC)BellevueWashingtonRecruiting
Synexus Clinical Research - BirminghamBirminghamAlabamaCompleted
Mass General Brigham - Brigham and Women's Hospital - Main CampusBostonMassachusettsRecruiting
Swift Clinical OpCo, IncBrooklynNew YorkRecruiting
Clinical Trials of South Carolina - Berkeley - CharlestonCharlestonSouth CarolinaRecruiting
M3 Wake Research - CharlestonCharlestonSouth CarolinaRecruiting
Feinberg School of Medicine - AnesthesiologyChicagoIllinoisRecruiting
Synexus Clinical Research - CincinnatiCincinnatiOhioCompleted
Tandem Clinical Research- CovingtonCovingtonLouisianaRecruiting
Synexus Clinical Research - Dallas (DFW) (DRS)DallasTexasCompleted
Zenos Clinical ResearchDallasTexasRecruiting
AMR Daphne, ALDaphneAlabamaCompleted
META Medical Research InstituteDaytonOhioRecruiting
Accel Research - DelandDeLandFloridaRecruiting
Accel Research - DecaturDecaturGeorgiaRecruiting
AMR-MiamiDoralFloridaRecruiting
Velocity Clinical Research - ProvidenceEast GreenwichRhode IslandRecruiting
Velocity Clinical Research - SyracuseEast SyracuseNew YorkRecruiting
Velocity Clinical Research - DenverEnglewoodColoradoRecruiting
Synexus Clinical Research - EvansvilleEvansvilleIndianaCompleted
Healthcare Research Network - Flossmoor ILFlossmoorIllinoisRecruiting
AMR Fort Myers (The Clinical Study Center)Fort MyersFloridaRecruiting
Neuro-Pain Medical CenterFresnoCaliforniaRecruiting
Velocity Clinical Research - Grants PassGrants PassOregonCompleted
Velocity Clinical Research - Hallandale BeachHallandaleFloridaRecruiting
Healthcare Research Network - Hazelwood MOHazelwoodMissouriRecruiting
CNS Healthcare - JacksonvilleJacksonvilleFloridaRecruiting
AMR Kansas CityKansas CityMissouriRecruiting
Accel Research - St. Petersburg-LargoLargoFloridaRecruiting
Synexus Clinical Research - Las VegasLas VegasNevadaCompleted
AMR LexingtonLexingtonKentuckyRecruiting
Long Beach Research InstituteLong BeachCaliforniaRecruiting
Angel City Research, IncLos AngelesCaliforniaRecruiting
Accel Research - MaitlandMaitlandFloridaCompleted
HRI - Hassman Research InstituteMarltonNew JerseyCompleted
Velocity Clinical Research - MedfordMedfordOregonRecruiting
Suburban Research Associates - MediaMediaPennsylvaniaRecruiting
Velocity Clinical Research - BoiseMeridianIdahoRecruiting
Suncoast Research Associates - MiamiMiamiFloridaRecruiting
3Sync Research - Miami LakesMiami LakesFloridaRecruiting
West Clinical ResearchMorehead CityNorth CarolinaRecruiting
AMR Nashville, TNNashvilleTennesseeCompleted
Suncoast Clinical Research - New Port RicheyNew Port RicheyFloridaRecruiting
Columbia Presbyterian - The Neurological Institute of New YorkNew YorkNew YorkRecruiting

26 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.

A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.