Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT06677060ClinicalTrials.gov

Phase III Study Investigating Heart Failure and Cardiovascular Death With Baxdrostat in Combination With Dapagliflozin

A Phase III, Randomised, Placebo-controlled, Event-driven Study to Evaluate the Effect of Baxdrostat in Combination With Dapagliflozin Compared With Dapagliflozin Alone on the Risk of Incident Heart Failure and Cardiovascular Death

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

Participants include men and women ≥ 40 years of age with T2DM, established CV disease, a history of HTN with an SBP of at least 130 mmHg at screening, who meet the predefined serum potassium level, and with at least…

Phase 311,300 participants sought957 sites35 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-11-06; recorded start 2025-03-14
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 1019 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (AstraZeneca)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 1 condition.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourDEFINITIVE

A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding20/20

    Quadruple-blind

  • Control arm0/15

    No comparator arm stated in the record

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type10/10

    Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 942 sites

  • Data monitoring committee7/7

    A data monitoring committee is in place

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleMEGA

A very large study, international in scope: 11,300 participants (target), run at 957 sites, across 35 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment38/40

    11,300 participants (target)

  • Site count25/25

    942 sites

  • Country count15/15

    35 countries

  • Planned duration10/10

    Planned over about 58 months

  • Sponsor scale10/10

    AstraZeneca has led 991 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

Participants include men and women ≥ 40 years of age with T2DM, established CV disease, a history of HTN with an SBP of at least 130 mmHg at screening, who meet the predefined serum potassium level, and with at least one additional risk factor for HF. The study will include an optional pre-screening period to facilitate sites' identification of potentially eligible participants to enter the full screening assessments. Participants will not be required to visit the site and no informed consent is required for the optional pre-screening period. The pre-screening assessments do not replace the full screening tests at Visit 1. Upon entering the screening period, all consented participants (after signature of screening ICF) will be screened during an up to 14-day screening period. Participants who meet all screening inclusion/exclusion criteria but are not treated with SGLT2i or are treated for less than 4 weeks will enter a run-in period with dapagliflozin 10 mg once daily for at least 4 weeks (and not more than 6 weeks) before randomisation. Site visits will take place at approximately 2-, 4-, 8-, 16-, and 34-weeks following randomisation. Thereafter visits will occur approximately every 4 months. The study closure procedures will be initiated when the predetermined number of the first secondary endpoint events (ie, the composite of hospitalisation for HF or CV death) is predicted to have occurred i.e., the PACD. In case of premature discontinuation of the blinded study intervention, participants will remain in the study. Unless a participant meets the dapagliflozin specific discontinuation criteria, they will continue to receive open label dapagliflozin 10 mg. It is important that the scheduled study visits and data collection continue according to the study protocol.

Conditions

  • Heart Failure

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages40 YearsNo maximum
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria: * Participants of any sex and gender must be ≥ 40 years old at the time of signing the informed consent. * Diagnosed with T2DM and requiring treatment * Established CV disease (ischaemic heart disease, cerebrovascular disease, peripheral arterial disease) * History of HTN and an SBP ≥ 130 mmHg at screening and ≥ 120 mmHg at the Randomisation Visit. * At least one additional risk factor for HF: * Age ≥ 70 years * UACR \> 20 mg/g * eGFR \< 60 mL/min/1.73 m2 * History of polyvascular disease (at least two of: ischaemic heart disease, cerebrovascular disease, and peripheral arterial disease) * History of atrial fibrillation or atrial flutter * NT-proBNP \> 125 ng/L Exclusion Criteria: * Previously confirmed diagnosis and treatment of heart failure * An eGFR \< 30 mL/min/1.73 m2 at screening * Known hyperkalaemia, defined as potassium ≥ 5.5 mmol/L within 3 months prior to screening * Type 1 diabetes mellitus or uncontrolled T2DM with HbA1c \> 10.5% (\> 91 mmol/mol) at screening * Serum sodium \< 135 mmol/L at screening, determined as per central laboratory assessment * Stroke, transient ischaemic cerebral attack, valve implantation or valve replacement, carotid surgery, carotid angioplasty, or cardiac surgery, within 3 months prior to randomisation * Myocardial infarction within 3 months prior to randomisation, or within 1 month prior to randomisation when there is no further planned revascularisation * Percutaneous coronary intervention within 1 month prior to randomisation * Known severe hepatic impairment, defined as Child-Pugh Class C, based on records that confirm documented medical history * Documented history of adrenal insufficiency * Any dialysis (including for acute kidney injury) within 3 months prior to screening * Any acute kidney injury within 3 months prior to screening * Prohibited concomitant medications

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposePREVENTION
MaskingQUADRUPLE (4)
Enrolment11,300 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • AstraZeneca Sponsor

Arms and interventions

  • Baxdrostat/DapagliflozinEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants randomised to the baxdrostat/dapagliflozin arm will initially receive a dose of baxdrostat lower dose and dapagliflozin. For participants that meet the up-titration criteria, baxdrostat may be up-titrated to higher dose.

  • Placebo/DapagliflozinEXPERIMENTAL

    Patients will receive a dose of dapagliflozin in combination with matching placebo

Interventions

  • Drug Baxdrostat and dapagliflozin

    baxdrostat tablet and dapagliflozin tablet

  • Other Placebo and dapagliflozin

    placebo tablet and dapagliflozin tablet

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    To determine if baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of an HF event or CV death

    Time to first occurrence of any of the components of the composite of: * Hospitalisation for HF * HF without hospitalisation * CV death

    Time frame Event driven; Up to 38 months

  2. Secondary outcome

    To determine whether baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of hospitalisation for HF or CV death

    Time to first occurrence of any of the components of the composite of: * Hospitalisation for HF * CV death

    Time frame Event driven; Up to 38 months

  3. Secondary outcome

    To determine whether baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of HF events

    Time to first occurrence of any of the components of the composite of: * Hospitalisation for HF * HF without hospitalisation

    Time frame Event driven; Up to 38 months

  4. Secondary outcome

    To determine whether baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of CV death

    Time to CV death

    Time frame Event driven; Up to 38 months

  5. Secondary outcome

    To determine whether baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of all-cause mortality

    Time to all-cause death

    Time frame Event driven; Up to 38 months

  6. Secondary outcome

    To determine whether baxdrostat/dapagliflozin is superior to placebo/dapagliflozin in reducing the risk of 4-point MACE (CV death, MI, stroke, and hospitalisation for HF)

    Time to first occurrence of any of the components of the composite of: * CV death * MI * Stroke * Hospitalisation for HF

    Time frame Event driven; Up to 38 months

Dates

Dates
Start dateMarch 14, 2025 (actual)
Primary completionDecember 17, 2029 (estimated)
CompletionDecember 17, 2029 (estimated)
First postedNovember 6, 2024 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 15, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedSeptember 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

830 sites are recruiting

Argentina

Argentina
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Research SiteBuenos AiresRecruiting
Research SiteCABARecruiting
Research SiteCABARecruiting
Research SiteCabaRecruiting
Research SiteCiudad de Buenos AiresRecruiting
Research SiteCórdobaRecruiting
Research SiteCórdobaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteLa PlataNot yet recruiting
Research SiteMar del PlataNot yet recruiting
Research SiteMar del PlataRecruiting
Research SiteRosarioRecruiting
Research SiteRosarioRecruiting
Research SiteSan NicolásRecruiting
Research SiteSan Nicolás de los ArroyosNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSan VicenteRecruiting
Research SiteSanta FeRecruiting

Australia

Australia
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteAdelaideRecruiting
Research SiteCastle HillRecruiting
Research SiteCoffs HarbourRecruiting
Research SiteElizabeth ValeRecruiting
Research SiteFremantleRecruiting
Research SiteGeelongRecruiting
Research SiteKingswoodTerminated
Research SiteLeabrookRecruiting
Research SiteMaroubraRecruiting
Research SiteMerewetherRecruiting
Research SiteMiltonRecruiting
Research SiteMulgraveWithdrawn
Research SiteOsborne ParkRecruiting
Research SiteRockhamptonRecruiting
Research SiteWollongongRecruiting

Brazil

Brazil
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteBelémRecruiting
Research SiteBlumenauRecruiting
Research SiteBragança PaulistaRecruiting
Research SiteBrasíliaRecruiting
Research SiteCampina Grande do SulRecruiting
Research SiteCampinasRecruiting
Research SiteCampinasRecruiting
Research SiteCuritibaRecruiting
Research SiteCuritibaRecruiting
Research SiteJuiz de ForaWithdrawn
Research SiteNatalRecruiting
Research SitePorto AlegreRecruiting
Research SitePorto AlegreRecruiting
Research SitePorto AlegreRecruiting
Research SitePorto AlegreRecruiting
Research SiteRio de JaneiroRecruiting
Research SiteSão José do Rio PretoRecruiting
Research SiteSão José dos CamposRecruiting

907 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 15, 2026

    Site added

    4 sites added (957 total)

    953957

  2. July 31, 2026

    Site added

    11 sites added (953 total)

    942953