NCT06693895ClinicalTrials.gov
A Study on the Safety of an Investigational Chickenpox Vaccine, When Given to Healthy Children, 12 to 15 Months of Age
A Phase 3a, Observer-blind, Randomized, Controlled Study to Evaluate the Safety of an Investigational Varicella Vaccine Compared With Varivax, Administered as a First Dose to Healthy Children 12 to 15 Months of Age
In brief
The purpose of this study is to assess how well-tolerated GSK's investigational varicella vaccine (VNS Vaccine) is, in comparison to an already approved varicella vaccine (VV) known as Varivax. The study will be conducted on healthy children aged 12 to…
Phase 3750 participants sought46 sites8 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06693895Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 months ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-11-18; recorded start 2024-11-26
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 321 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (GlaxoSmithKline)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding13/20
Double-blind
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 46 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 750 participants (target), run at 46 sites, across 8 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment28/40
750 participants (target)
- Site count20/25
46 sites
- Country count12/15
8 countries
- Planned duration7/10
Planned over about 24 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
GlaxoSmithKline has led 305 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
The purpose of this study is to assess how well-tolerated GSK's investigational varicella vaccine (VNS Vaccine) is, in comparison to an already approved varicella vaccine (VV) known as Varivax. The study will be conducted on healthy children aged 12 to 15 months, and who have neither contracted varicella nor received a varicella vaccination.
Conditions
- Chickenpox
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 12 Months – 15 Months |
| Healthy volunteers | Yes |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | PREVENTION |
| Masking | DOUBLE (2) |
| Enrolment | 750 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- GlaxoSmithKline Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- VNS GroupEXPERIMENTAL
Participants receive 1 dose of a VNS vaccine, 1 dose of measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR) vaccine, 1 dose of hepatitis A (HAV) vaccine, and 1 dose of PCV (either PCV 13 or Vaxneuvance or PCV 20) on Day 1.
- VV GroupACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Participants receive 1 dose of a marketed VV, 1 dose of MMR vaccine, 1 dose of HAV vaccine, and 1 dose of PCV (either PCV 13 or Vaxneuvance or PCV 20) on Day 1.
Interventions
- Biological Hepatitis A vaccine
1 dose of hepatitis A vaccine co-administered intramuscularly.
- Biological Investigational varicella vaccine
1 dose of investigational varicella vaccine administered subcutaneously.
- Biological Marketed varicella vaccine
1 dose of marketed varicella vaccine administered subcutaneously.
- Biological Measles, mumps, and rubella vaccine
1 dose of measles, mumps, and rubella vaccine co-administered subcutaneously or intramuscularly.
- Biological PCV (pneumococcal conjugate vaccine) 13
1 dose of 13-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine co-administered intramuscularly. In some countries PCV will only be administered depending on the availability, country's registration status and national recommendations for pneumococcal vaccination at the time of study conduct.
- Biological PCV 20
1 dose of 20-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine co-administered intramuscularly. In some countries PCV will only be administered depending on the availability, country's registration status and national recommendations for pneumococcal vaccination at the time of study conduct.
- Biological Vaxneuvance
1 dose of 15-valent pneumococcal conjugate (Vaxneuvance) vaccine co-administered intramuscularly. In some countries PCV will only be administered depending on the availability, country's registration status and national recommendations for pneumococcal vaccination at the time of study conduct.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Percentage of participants reporting each solicited administration site events
Solicited administration site events include injection site redness, pain and swelling.
Time frame Day 1 (post-dose) to Day 4
Primary outcome
Percentage of participants reporting each solicited systemic event
Solicited systemic events include drowsiness, loss of appetite and irritability.
Time frame Day 1 (post-dose) to Day 15
Primary outcome
Percentage of participants reporting each solicited systemic event in terms of fever
Fever is defined as temperature greater than or equal to (\>=) 38.0°C (100.4°F) by any route (the preferred location for measuring temperature is the axilla).
Time frame Day 1 (post-dose) to Day 22
Primary outcome
Percentage of participants reporting each solicited administration site events
Solicited administration site include injection site varicella-like rash.
Time frame Day 1 (post-dose) to Day 43
Primary outcome
Percentage of participants reporting solicited systemic events
Solicited systemic events includes varicella-like rash (non-injection site), and general rash (not varicella-like).
Time frame Day 1 (post-dose) to Day 43
Primary outcome
Percentage of participants reporting unsolicited adverse events (AEs)
An unsolicited AE is an AE that was either not included in the list of solicited events or could be included in the list of solicited events but with an onset outside the specified period of follow-up for solicited events.
Time frame Day 1 (post-dose) to Day 43
Primary outcome
Percentage of participants reporting medically attended AEs (MAAE)
A MAAE is an AE for which the participant received medical attention including any symptom or illness requiring hospitalization, or an emergency room visit, or visit to/by a healthcare professional.
Time frame Day 1 (post-dose) to Day 181 (study end)
Primary outcome
Percentage of participants reporting serious adverse events (SAEs)
A SAE is an AE which results in death, is life-threatening, requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in disability/incapacity, or other situations that are considered serious per medical or scientific judgment.
Time frame Day 1 (post-dose) to Day 181 (study end)
Dates
| Start date | November 26, 2024 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | November 23, 2026 (estimated) |
| Completion | November 23, 2026 (estimated) |
| First posted | November 18, 2024 (actual) |
| Last updated | May 29, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | May 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
37 sites are recruiting
Bulgaria
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| GSK Investigational Site | Burgas | Withdrawn | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Gabrovo | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Kyustendil | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Plovdiv | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Rousse | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Sevlievo | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Yambol | Withdrawn |
Denmark
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| GSK Investigational Site | Aarhus N | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Copenhagen | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Hvidovre | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Odense C | Recruiting |
Estonia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| GSK Investigational Site | Tallinn | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Tallinn | Recruiting |
Hong Kong
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| GSK Investigational Site | Hong Kong | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Shatin | Recruiting |
Lithuania
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| GSK Investigational Site | Kaunas | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Kaunas | Recruiting |
Mexico
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| GSK Investigational Site | Durango | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Tlalpan | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Tlalpan | Recruiting |
Poland
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| GSK Investigational Site | Bydgoszcz | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Trzebnica | Recruiting | |
| GSK Investigational Site | Warsaw | Recruiting |
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| GSK Investigational Site | Chicago | Illinois | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Cincinnati | Ohio | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Dallas | Texas | Withdrawn |
| GSK Investigational Site | Dallas | Texas | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | El Dorado | Kansas | Withdrawn |
| GSK Investigational Site | Hialeah | Florida | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Huntington Park | California | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Lafayette | Louisiana | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Lincoln | Nebraska | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Mankato | Minnesota | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Miami | Florida | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | National City | California | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Phoenix | Arizona | Withdrawn |
| GSK Investigational Site | Richmond | Texas | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Richmond | Virginia | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Richmond | Texas | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Roy | Utah | Completed |
| GSK Investigational Site | San Antonio | Texas | Withdrawn |
| GSK Investigational Site | Syracuse | Utah | Recruiting |
| GSK Investigational Site | Tucson | Arizona | Withdrawn |
| GSK Investigational Site | Vienna | Virginia | Withdrawn |
| GSK Investigational Site | West Covina | California | Recruiting |
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.