NCT06847321ClinicalTrials.gov
Study of LHP588 in Subjects With P. Gingivalis-Positive Alzheimer's Disease
A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study of LHP588 in Subjects With P. Gingivalis-Positive Alzheimer's Disease
In brief
This study is to test LHP588 in persons who have mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease (AD) who have shown progressive mental decline in the last year and who have P. gingivalis (Pg) infection. P. gingivalis infection has been linked to…
Phase 2300 participants sought38 sites1 country
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06847321Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 5 days ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Not stated: Registered after enrolment began (about 9 days after the recorded start)First posted 2025-02-26; recorded start 2025-02-17
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Not stated: No other studies from this sponsor are in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Lighthouse Pharmaceuticals, Inc.)
- Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 2 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 2 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 39 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration3/5
Registered within 30 days of the study start
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study: 300 participants (target), run at 38 sites.
How this score is built
- Enrolment24/40
300 participants (target)
- Site count19/25
39 sites
- Country count0/15
Single country
- Planned duration9/10
Planned over about 50 months
- Sponsor scale0/10
Lighthouse Pharmaceuticals, Inc. has led 1 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This study is to test LHP588 in persons who have mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease (AD) who have shown progressive mental decline in the last year and who have P. gingivalis (Pg) infection. P. gingivalis infection has been linked to the development of dementia. LHP588 is designed to target the P. gingivalis bacterium, to potentially help to halt or slow down the progression of AD and its symptoms. A saliva test will be done to determine P. gingivalis infection. Tests for AD include standard questionnaires such as MMSE and a blood test for pTau217. Treatment will be blinded, meaning the participant and the doctor will not know if the participant is receiving LHP588 or placebo. The total time for participation in the study may be up to 64 weeks. This includes a screening period (to ensure the participant is suitable for the study and the study is suitable for the participant) of up to 12 weeks, a treatment period of up to 48 weeks, and a safety follow-up period of 4 weeks after the last dose of the study drug to check the participant's overall health. Treatment is a once-a-day capsule. Caregiver participation is required. The study requires the participant to visit the study center (with the caregiver) at least 20 times within 64 weeks (this does not include any unplanned visits that may be recommended by the study doctor). In addition, the study doctor or clinic staff will contact the participant via phone at least 1 time.
Conditions
- Alzheimer Disease
- Alzheimer Disease Due to P. Gingivalis
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 55 Years – 80 Years |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 2 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Enrolment | 300 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Lighthouse Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
Two (2) placebo capsules, once daily, for 48 weeks
- LHP588 25 mgEXPERIMENTAL
One (1) 25 mg capsule and one (1) placebo capsule, once daily, for 48 weeks
- LHP588 50 mgEXPERIMENTAL
Two (2) 25 mg capsules, once daily, for 48 weeks
Interventions
- Drug LHP588
25 mg, once daily
- Drug LHP588
50 mg, once daily
- Drug Placebo Drug
Placebo, once daily
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Change in ADAS-Cog11
ADAS-COG11 is the Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale 11
Time frame 40 - 48 weeks
Secondary outcome
Change in ADCS-ADL
ADCS-ADL is the Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study Group-Activities of Daily Living
Time frame 40 - 48 weeks
Secondary outcome
Change in CMAI
CMAI is the Cohen-Mansfield Agitation Inventory
Time frame 40 - 48 weeks
Secondary outcome
Change in CDR-SB
CDR-SB is the Clinical Dementia Rating-Sum of Boxes
Time frame 40 - 48 weeks
Dates
| Start date | February 17, 2025 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | January 31, 2029 (estimated) |
| Completion | March 15, 2029 (estimated) |
| First posted | February 26, 2025 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 15, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | June 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
37 sites are recruiting
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alzheimer's Disease Research Center | Albany | New York | Recruiting |
| IMA Evaluations | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Recruiting |
| JEM Research Institute | Atlantis | Florida | Recruiting |
| Northwest Clinical Research Center | Bellevue | Washington | Recruiting |
| Adams Clinical Boston | Boston | Massachusetts | Recruiting |
| University of Virginia Adult Neurology | Charlottesville | Virginia | Recruiting |
| Clinical Research Professionals - Headlands | Chesterfield | Missouri | Recruiting |
| Columbus Memory Center | Columbus | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Kerwin Research Center, LLC - Oak Cliff | Dallas | Texas | Recruiting |
| Kerwin Research Center, LLC in Texas | Dallas | Texas | Recruiting |
| NDx Clinical Research | Dayton | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Brain Matters Research | Delray Beach | Florida | Recruiting |
| CenExel Denver, CO | Englewood | Colorado | Recruiting |
| Re-Cognition Health Fairfax | Fairfax | Virginia | Recruiting |
| Neuropsychiatric Research Center of Southwest Florida | Fort Myers | Florida | Recruiting |
| Center for Advanced Research & Education Flourish-Gainesville | Gainsville | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Neurological Research Center - Hattiesburg Clinic | Hattiesburg | Mississippi | Recruiting |
| Tandem Clinical Research - Metairie | Metairie | Louisiana | Recruiting |
| K2 Medical Research Nashville LLC | Nashville | Tennessee | Recruiting |
| Adams Clinic Harlem | New York | New York | Recruiting |
| Oakland Clinical Research | Oakland | California | Recruiting |
| ATP Clinical Research, Inc. | Orange | California | Recruiting |
| Conquest Research - Lake Nona | Orlando | Florida | Recruiting |
| Anchor Neuroscience | Pensacola | Florida | Active, not recruiting |
| Barrow Neurological Institute | Phoenix | Arizona | Recruiting |
| Banner Alzheimer's Institute | Phoenix | Arizona | Recruiting |
| Headlands PharmaSite | Pikesville | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Headlands Research-EMA | Plymouth | Massachusetts | Recruiting |
| Progressive Medical Research | Port Orange | Florida | Recruiting |
| Summitt Research | Portland | Oregon | Recruiting |
| Riverside Clinical Research | Riverside | California | Recruiting |
| Clinical Endpoints | Scottsdale | Arizona | Recruiting |
| CenExel Sherman Oaks | Sherman Oaks | California | Recruiting |
| Alzheimer's Research and Treatment Center - Stuart | Stuart | Florida | Recruiting |
| CenExel Research - Toms River | Toms River | New Jersey | Recruiting |
| Adams Clinical Watertown | Watertown | Massachusetts | Recruiting |
| Alzheimer's Research and Treatment Center - Wellington | Wellington | Florida | Recruiting |
| Ascension via Christi Research | Wichita | Kansas | Recruiting |
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- September 15, 2026
Site removed
1 site removed (38 total)
3938
- September 8, 2026
Site removed
1 site removed (39 total)
4039
- July 31, 2026
Site added
1 site added (40 total)
3940