Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT06982521ClinicalTrials.gov

Phase 3 Study of RLY-2608 + Fulvestrant vs Capivasertib + Fulvestrant as Treatment for Locally Advanced or Metastatic PIK3CA-mutant HR+/HER2- Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 Open-Label Randomized Study Assessing the Efficacy and Safety of RLY-2608 + Fulvestrant Versus Capivasertib + Fulvestrant as Treatment for PIK3CA-mutant Hormone Receptor Positive, Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2 Negative (HR+/HER2-) Locally Advanced or Metastatic Breast Cancer Following Recurrence or Progression On or After Treatment With a CDK4/6 Inhibitor

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

This is a global, multicenter, open-label, randomized Phase 3 study comparing the efficacy and safety of RLY-2608 (zovegalisib) + fulvestrant to capivasertib + fulvestrant for the treatment of patients with HR+/HER2- ABC with PIK3CA mutation following recurrence or progression on…

Phase 3540 participants sought231 sites24 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2025-05-21; recorded start 2025-08-26
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 7 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Relay Therapeutics, Inc.)
  • Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 6 conditions.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourSTRONG

A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding0/20

    Open-label

  • Control arm15/15

    Active-comparator control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type10/10

    Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 211 sites

  • Data monitoring committee0/7

    Data monitoring committee not stated in the record

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleMEDIUM

A medium-sized study, international in scope: 540 participants (target), run at 231 sites, across 24 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment27/40

    540 participants (target)

  • Site count25/25

    211 sites

  • Country count15/15

    23 countries

  • Planned duration10/10

    Planned over about 77 months

  • Sponsor scale3/10

    Relay Therapeutics, Inc. has led 8 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

This is a global, multicenter, open-label, randomized Phase 3 study comparing the efficacy and safety of RLY-2608 (zovegalisib) + fulvestrant to capivasertib + fulvestrant for the treatment of patients with HR+/HER2- ABC with PIK3CA mutation following recurrence or progression on or after treatment with a CDK4/6 inhibitor.

Conditions

  • PIK3CA Mutation
  • HER2- Negative Breast Cancer
  • Hormone Receptor Positive Tumor
  • Breast Cancer
  • Metastatic Breast Cancer
  • Advanced Breast Cancer

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 YearsNo maximum
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria: * Patient has ECOG performance status of 0-1 * One or more known primary oncogenic PIK3CA mutation(s) * Adult females, pre- and/or post-menopausal, and adult males. Pre-menopausal (and peri-menopausal) women can be enrolled if amenable to treatment with a gonadotropin-releasing hormone (GnRH) agonist. Patients are to have commenced treatment with a GnRH agonist at least 2 weeks prior to randomization and must be willing to continue on it for the duration of the study. * Histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of HR+/HER2- locally advanced or metastatic breast cancer (ABC) with radiological or objective evidence of recurrence or progression; locally advanced disease must not be amenable to resection with curative intent * Measurable disease per RECIST v1.1 or evaluable bone-only disease. * Must have radiological evidence of progression on or after previous treatment for HR+/HER2- ABC with: 1. At least 1 and no more than 2 lines of endocrine therapy (ET) in the (neo)adjuvant setting with recurrence on or within 12 months of completion or in the ABC setting 2. Only 1 prior line of CDK4/6 inhibitor therapy in one of the following settings: 1. CDK4/6 inhibitor + ET in the ABC setting 2. CDK4/6 inhibitor therapy in the adjuvant setting if progression occurred during or within 12 months of completion of adjuvant CDK4/6 inhibitor with ET 3. Patients who progressed during or within 12 months of completion of adjuvant CDK4/6 inhibitor and after receiving CDK4/6 inhibitor therapy in the advanced setting are considered to have had \>1 prior line of CDK4/6 inhibitor and are not eligible Exclusion Criteria: * Prior treatment with any of the following: 1. CDK2 inhibitors. Prior treatment with other investigational CDK inhibitors could be permitted upon discussion and approval from the Sponsor 2. PIK3, AKT, or mTOR inhibitors or any agent whose mechanism of action is the inhibit the PIK3/AKT/mTOR pathway 3. Immunotherapy 4. Antibody drug conjugates * Type 1 diabetes, or Type 2 diabetes requiring antihyperglycemic medication, or fasting plasma glucose ≥ 140 mg/dL (7.8 mmol/L), or glycosylated hemoglobin (HbA1c) ≥7.0% (≥ 53 mmol/mol). * Clinically significant, uncontrolled cardiovascular disease * Any factors that increase the risk of QTc prolongation or risk of arrhythmic events * Known active uncontrolled or symptomatic CNS metastases associated with progressive neurological symptoms or requiring ongoing corticosteroids or anticonvulsants for symptomatic control * Past medical history of interstitial lung disease, drug-induced interstitial lung disease, radiation pneumonitis which required steroid treatment, or any evidence of clinically active interstitial lung disease * History of hypersensitivity to fulvestrant or drugs in a similar class as fulvestrant, zovegalisib, or capivasertib, including their excipients * Known activating AKT mutations, loss-of-function PTEN mutations, or loss of PTEN expression resulting in oncogenic pathway activation downstream of PI3K

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingNONE (0)
Enrolment540 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • Relay Therapeutics, Inc. Sponsor

Arms and interventions

  • Zovegalisib + fulvestrantEXPERIMENTAL

    Zovegalisib + fulvestrant combination for participants with HR+/HER2- advanced breast cancer

  • capivasertib + fulvestrantACTIVE_COMPARATOR

    capivasertib + fulvestrant combination for participants with HR+/HER2- advanced breast cancer

Interventions

  • Drug Capivasertib

    400mg orally BID administered on an intermittent weekly dosing schedule. Patients will dose on Days 1 through 4 each week of a 28-day treatment cycle

  • Drug Fulvestrant

    500 mg intramuscularly administered on Cycle 1 Day 1, Day 15, and Day 1 of each subsequent cycle (28-day treatment cycle)

  • Drug Zovegalisib

    400 mg orally BID administered daily on a 28-day treatment cycle

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Progression-Free Survival (PFS) within the overall and kinase population by blinded independent central review (BICR)

    Time frame The time from date of randomization until radiographic progression per RECIST v1.1, or death due to any cause, up to approximately 77 months

  2. Secondary outcome

    Overall Survival (OS) within the overall and kinase populations

    Time frame The time from randomization to the date of death by any cause, up to approximately 77 months

  3. Secondary outcome

    PFS by Investigator within the overall and kinase populations

    Time frame The time from date of randomization until radiographic progression per RECIST v1.1, or death due to any cause, up to approximately 77 months

  4. Secondary outcome

    Objective Response Rate (ORR) within the overall and kinase populations

    Time frame Up to approximately 77 months

  5. Secondary outcome

    Duration of Response (DOR) within the overall and kinase populations

    Time frame Up to approximately 77 months

  6. Secondary outcome

    Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR) within the overall and kinase populations

    Time frame Up to approximately 77 months

  7. Secondary outcome

    Occurrence/frequency of Adverse Events (AEs) and its relationship to the study drugs (safety and tolerability) within the overall and kinase populations

    Time frame Up to approximately 77 months

  8. Secondary outcome

    Plasma concentrations of zovegalisib (and its metabolites as appropriate)

    Time frame Approximately every 2 weeks in Cycle 1 (4-week cycle) and during Cycles 2 and 3

  9. Secondary outcome

    European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire (EORTC QLQ-C30) scale/item scores including change from baseline and time to deterioration within overall and kinase populations

    Time frame Up to approximately 77 months

  10. Secondary outcome

    EORTC Quality of Life Questionnaire Breast Cancer-Specific Module (EORTC QLQ-BR23) scale/item scores including change from baseline and time to deterioration within the overall and kinase populations

    Time frame Up to approximately 77 months

  11. Secondary outcome

    Health state utility data for economic evaluation by EQ-5D-5L health state utility index within the overall and kinase populations

    Time frame Up to approximately 77 months

Dates

Dates
Start dateAugust 26, 2025 (actual)
Primary completionApril 30, 2028 (estimated)
CompletionDecember 31, 2031 (estimated)
First postedMay 21, 2025 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 3, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedJuly 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

231 sites are recruiting

Argentina

Argentina
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Organización Médica de Investigación (OMI)Buenos AiresRecruiting
Centro Medico Dr. Doreski- Fundacion RespirarBuenos AiresRecruiting
Hospital Britanico de Buenos AiresBuenos AiresRecruiting
Instituto de Investigaciones Clinicas de CordobaCórdobaRecruiting
Breast clinica de la mamaLa PlataRecruiting
Hospital Provincial del CentenarioRosarioRecruiting
Instituto de Oncología de RosarioRosarioRecruiting
Centro de Investigaciones Clinicas. Clinica Viedma S.A.ViedmaRecruiting

Australia

Australia
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Monash HealthClaytonVictoriaRecruiting
St. Vincent's Hospital SydneyDarlinghurstNew South WalesRecruiting
Lake Macquarie HospitalGatesheadNew South WalesRecruiting
Barwon HealthGeelongVictoriaRecruiting
Bayside Health (Alfred)MelbourneVictoriaRecruiting
Peter MacCallum Cancer CenterMelbourneVictoriaRecruiting
Mater Hospital SydneyNorth SydneyNew South WalesRecruiting
Sunshine HospitalSaint AlbansVictoriaRecruiting
Sydney Adventist HospitalWahroongaNew South WalesRecruiting
Ballarat Oncology & Haematology Clinical Research FundWendoureeVictoriaRecruiting

Austria

Austria
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Medical University of GrazGrazRecruiting
Ordensklinikum Linz GmbHLinzRecruiting
LKH Feldkirch, Interne E am LKH RankweilRankweilRecruiting

Belgium

Belgium
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Universitair Ziekenhuis AntwerpenAntwerpRecruiting
Cliniques Universitaires Saint-LucBrusselsRecruiting
Institut Jules BordetBrusselsRecruiting
Ghent University HospitalGhentRecruiting
Universitair Ziekenhuis BrusselJetteRecruiting
Universitair Ziekenhuis LeuvenLeuvenRecruiting
Centre Hospitalier de l'ArdenneLibramontRecruiting
Clinique CHC Mont LegiaLiègeRecruiting
CHU-UCL Namur, Site Sainte-ElisabethNamurRecruiting
VitazSint-NiklaasRecruiting
CHR de Verviers site TourelleVerviersRecruiting

Brazil

Brazil
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Oncolinicas do Brasil Serviços Médicos S.A (Oncocentro)Belo HorizonteRecruiting
CEMEC CTO (CPAM - Centro de Pesquisas da Amazônia)BelémRecruiting
Instituto do Câncer do CearáFortalezaRecruiting
Hospital de Cancer Araujo Jorge/ Associacao de Combate ao Cancer em GoiasGoiâniaRecruiting
Oncoclinicas Natal- Centro de Pesquisa Oncology NatalNatalRecruiting
Associação Hospitalar Moinhos de VentoPorto AlegreRecruiting
Uniao Brasileira de Educacao e Assistencia/ Hospital Sao Lucas da PUCRSPorto AlegreRecruiting
Centro Gaúcho Integrado - Hospital Mae de DeusPorto AlegreRecruiting
Hospital de Clinicas de Porto AlegrePorto AlegreRecruiting
Irmandade da Santa Casa de Misericórdia de Porto AlegrePorto AlegreRecruiting
Oncoclinicas Rio de Janeiro S.A.Rio de JaneiroRecruiting
Instituto de Educação Pesquisa e Gestão em SaúdeRio de JaneiroRecruiting
Nucleo de Oncologia da Bahia S.A.SalvadorRecruiting
Centro de Oncologia do ABC- CEON+ Unidade Sao Caetano do SulSão Caetano do SulRecruiting
Sociedade Beneficente de Senhora Hospital Sírio-LibanêsSão PauloRecruiting
Clinica Onco StarSão PauloRecruiting

Bulgaria

Bulgaria
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
MHAT "Dr. Tota Venkova", ADGabrovoRecruiting
Acibadem City Clinic Tokuda University Hospital EADSofiaRecruiting

181 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 3, 2026

    Site added

    9 sites added (231 total)

    222231

  2. August 5, 2026

    Site added

    11 sites added (222 total)

    211222