NCT07213778ClinicalTrials.gov
REGN7508 Versus Acetylsalicylic Acid (ASA) for Venous Thromboprophylaxis After Total Knee Arthroplasty in Adult Participants
A Phase 3, Multicenter, Double-Blinded, Randomized Study to Evaluate REGN7508, a Factor XI Monoclonal Antibody, Versus Acetylsalicylic Acid for Prophylaxis of Symptomatic Venous Thromboembolism After Elective Total Knee Arthroplasty (ROXI-ASPEN)
In brief
This study is researching an experimental drug called REGN7508 (called "study drug") and how it compares against another treatment called Acetylsalicylic Acid (ASA). The study is focused on adults undergoing elective, unilateral (one side) total knee replacement surgery. The aim…
Phase 32,000 participants sought36 sites4 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07213778Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 5 days ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2025-10-09; recorded start 2025-11-24
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 251 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Regeneron Pharmaceuticals)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 32 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 2,000 participants (target), run at 36 sites, across 4 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment33/40
2,000 participants (target)
- Site count18/25
32 sites
- Country count7/15
4 countries
- Planned duration6/10
Planned over about 20 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals has led 248 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This study is researching an experimental drug called REGN7508 (called "study drug") and how it compares against another treatment called Acetylsalicylic Acid (ASA). The study is focused on adults undergoing elective, unilateral (one side) total knee replacement surgery. The aim of the study is to see how effective the study drug is at preventing Venous Thromboembolism (VTE) and other related diseases after total knee replacement surgery compared to acetylsalicylic acid. The study is looking at several other research questions, including: * What side effects may happen from taking the study drug * How much study drug is in the blood at different times * Whether the body makes antibodies against the study drug (which could make the study drug less effective or could lead to side effects)
Conditions
- Symptomatic Venous Thromboembolism (VTE)
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Enrolment | 2,000 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- REGN7508 and PlaceboEXPERIMENTAL
- Placebo and ASAACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Interventions
- Drug Acetylsalicylic Acid (ASA)
Administered per the protocol
- Drug Placebo
Administered per the protocol
- Drug REGN7508
Administered per the protocol
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Incidence of the composite endpoint of symptomatic VTE and all-cause death
Time frame Through day 30 visit
Secondary outcome
Incidence of all-cause death
Time frame Through day 30 visit
Secondary outcome
Time to first event of the confirmed symptomatic DVT
Time frame Through day 30 visit
Secondary outcome
Time to first event of the confirmed PE
Time frame Through day 30 visit
Secondary outcome
Time to the all-cause death
Time frame Through day 30 visit
Secondary outcome
Incidence of the composite endpoint of major bleeding and Clinically Relevant Non-Major (CRNM) bleeding
Time frame Through day 30 visit
Secondary outcome
Incidence of minor bleeding
Time frame Through day 30 visit
Secondary outcome
Incidence of Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)
Time frame Through day 90 visit
Secondary outcome
Severity of TEAEs
Time frame Through day 90 visit
Secondary outcome
Incidence of Anti-drug Antibody (ADA) to REGN7508
Time frame Through day 90 visit
Secondary outcome
Magnitude of ADA to REGN7508
Time frame Through day 90 visit
Secondary outcome
Concentrations of REGN7508
Time frame Through day 90 visit
Secondary outcome
Time to first event of the composite endpoint of symptomatic VTE and all-cause death
Time frame Through day 30 visit
Secondary outcome
Incidence of confirmed symptomatic Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT)
Time frame Through day 30 visit
Secondary outcome
Incidence of confirmed Pulmonary Embolism (PE)
Time frame Through day 30 visit
Dates
| Start date | November 24, 2025 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | May 17, 2027 (estimated) |
| Completion | July 16, 2027 (estimated) |
| First posted | October 9, 2025 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 14, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | September 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
34 sites are recruiting
Greece
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Henry Dunant Hospital Center | Athens | Attica | Recruiting |
Malaysia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital Pakar Universiti Sains Malaysia | Kota Bharu | Kelantan | Recruiting |
| Hospital Queen Elizabeth II | Kota Kinabalu | Sabah | Recruiting |
| Hospital Tengku Ampuan Afzan (HTTA) | Kuantan | Pahang | Recruiting |
| Sultan Abdul Halim Hospital | Sungai Petani | Kedah | Recruiting |
Moldova
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| PMSI Emergency Medicine Institute | Chisinau | Recruiting |
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Velocity Clinical Research, Annapolis | Annapolis | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Sinai Hospital of Baltimore, Inc. | Baltimore | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Boston Medical Center | Boston | Massachusetts | Recruiting |
| Tufts Medical Center | Boston | Massachusetts | Recruiting |
| University of Cincinnati | Cincinnati | Ohio | Recruiting |
| The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center | Columbus | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Ohio Clinical Trials | Columbus | Ohio | Recruiting |
| South Florida Joint Replacement Center | Deerfield Beach | Florida | Recruiting |
| Duke University Health System (Duke Health), Duke University Hospital | Durham | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| HD Research - Memorial Hermann Village | Houston | Texas | Completed |
| NextStage Clinical Research, All American Orthopedics and Sports Medicine | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| The Orthopaedic Research Foundation, Inc. | Indianapolis | Indiana | Recruiting |
| Horizon Clinical Research | La Mesa | California | Recruiting |
| Sky Ridge Medical Center | Lone Tree | Colorado | Recruiting |
| Medical Research of Westchester - MPLUS Research Network | Miami | Florida | Recruiting |
| University of Pittsburgh | Pittsburgh | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| Eximia Equihealth Research-Raleigh. LLC | Raleigh | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| The Vein and Vascular Center at Raleigh Radiology | Raleigh | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| Eisenhower Medical Center | Rancho Mirage | California | Recruiting |
| Carilion Clinic | Roanoke | Virginia | Recruiting |
| University of Rochester Medical Center | Rochester | New York | Recruiting |
| Endeavor Clinical Trials | San Antonio | Texas | Withdrawn |
| Flourish Research - San Antonio (Formerly Clinical Trials of Texas) | San Antonio | Texas | Recruiting |
| Endeavor Health | Skokie | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Larkin Community Hospital South Miami | South Miami | Florida | Recruiting |
| Spokane Joint Replacement Center | Spokane | Washington | Recruiting |
| Phoenix Clinical Research | Tamarac | Florida | Recruiting |
| Holy Name Medical Center | Teaneck | New Jersey | Recruiting |
| NextStage Clinical Research, St. Francis Medical Park | Wichita | Kansas | Recruiting |
| Coastal Vascular Institute, PA | Wilmington | North Carolina | Recruiting |
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- September 14, 2026
Site added
2 sites added (36 total)
3436
- August 19, 2026
Site added
2 sites added (34 total)
3234