NCT07609108ClinicalTrials.gov
Pridopidine Phase 3 Study in Huntington's Disease
A Phase 3, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Pridopidine in Participants With Huntington's Disease (HD)
In brief
The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if pridopidine can slow the clinical decline of Huntington's Disease (HD) in adult participants. It will also inform about the safety of pridopidine. The main questions the study aims to answer…
Phase 3400 participants sought66 sites12 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07609108Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 days ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-05-27; recorded start 2026-07-01
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 2 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Prilenia)
- Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre0/8
Single site, or site count not stated
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 400 participants (target), run at 66 sites, across 12 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment25/40
400 participants (target)
- Site count0/25
Site count not stated in the record
- Country count0/15
Country count not stated in the record
- Planned duration9/10
Planned over about 49 months
- Sponsor scale1/10
Prilenia has led 3 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if pridopidine can slow the clinical decline of Huntington's Disease (HD) in adult participants. It will also inform about the safety of pridopidine. The main questions the study aims to answer are: Does pridopidine slow the overall worsening of HD over 1 year? Does pridopidine slow the worsening of specific aspects of HD over 1 year, namely the clinical progression, the ability to perform daily life activities (functional capacity), the mind's ability to process information (cognition), working of the muscles (motor function), and quality of life? Researchers will compare the drug pridopidine to a placebo (a look-alike substance that contains no drug) to see if pridopidine works better than placebo to treat HD. During the first year of the study, participants will have the same chance to receive either pridopidine or placebo. Participants will: Take 1 pridopidine or placebo capsule twice daily for 12 months. Visit the clinic 6 times within 1 year for checkups and tests. All participants who complete this 1-year placebo-controlled study period will roll over into an additional 2-year study period during which all participants will receive pridopidine treatment, including participants who had received placebo during the first year. During this additional 2-year treatment period participants will visit the clinic a total of 6 times for checkups and tests.
Conditions
- Huntington Disease
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 23 Years – 65 Years |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Enrolment | 400 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Prilenia Sponsor
- Ferrer Internacional S.A. Collaborators
Arms and interventions
- PridopidineEXPERIMENTAL
During the titration period (2 weeks), pridopidine 45 mg capsules will be taken orally once daily (in the morning) for 2 weeks. Afterwards, pridopidine 45 mg capsules will be taken orally twice daily (in the morning and in the afternoon; 7-10 hours apart) for 50 weeks.
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
During the titration period (2 weeks), matched placebo hard gelatin capsules will be taken once daily (in the morning) for 2 weeks. Afterwards, placebo capsules will be taken twice daily (in the morning and in the afternoon; 7-10 hours apart) for 50 weeks.
Interventions
- Drug Placebo
Matched placebo hard gelatin capsule
- Drug Pridopidine
Pridopidine hard gelatin capsule
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Change in Composite Unified Huntington's Disease Rating Scale (cUHDRS)
cUHDRS is a combined score to assess disease progression in HD. It includes TFC, TMS, SDMT, and SWR: Total Functional Capacity (TFC) tests the capacity to maintain daily living, finances, care level, occupation. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=13. Worst score=0. Total Motor Score (TMS) assesses motor features (oculomotor, dysarthria, chorea, dystonia, gait, postural stability). Higher score = worse outcome. Best score=0. Worst score= 124. Stroop Word Reading (SWR) measures attention and mental flexibility. Participant reads names of colors printed in black ink. Scores reflect correct responses in 45 sec. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=100. Worst score=0. Symbol Digit Modalities Test (SDMT) tests psychomotor speed and working memory. Participant has 90 sec to match numbers with symbols. Scores = correct answers in 90 sec. Higher score = better outcome. Best score=120. Worst score=0. Total integrated cUHDRS scale range: -7.6 to 24.8. The higher, the better.
Time frame Change from Baseline to Week 52
Secondary outcome
Change in Total Functional Capacity (TFC) score
Total Functional Capacity (TFC) tests the capacity to maintain domestic chores, activities of daily living, finances, care level, and occupation. Scores from 0 - 13. Higher score = better outcome.
Time frame Change from Baseline to Week 52
Secondary outcome
Change in Quantitative Motor (Q-Motor) Finger Tapping Inter-Onset Interval (FT-IOI) mean
Quantitative (Q)-motor is a clinical assessment of fine motor skills that are crucial for daily activities. It is based on the application of pre-calibrated and temperature-controlled force transducers and 3-dimensional position sensors. Higher score = worse outcome.
Time frame Change from Baseline to Week 52
Secondary outcome
Change in Stroop Word Reading (SWR) score
Stroop Word Reading (SWR) measures attention and mental flexibility. Participant reads names of colors printed in black ink. Scores reflect correct responses in 45 sec. Higher score = better outcome.
Time frame Change from Baseline to Week 52
Dates
| Start date | July 1, 2026 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | June 1, 2028 (estimated) |
| Completion | June 1, 2030 (estimated) |
| First posted | May 27, 2026 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 17, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | May 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
5 sites are recruiting
Belgium
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hopital Erasme | Anderlecht | Not yet recruiting | |
| Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc | Woluwe-Saint-Lambert | Not yet recruiting |
Canada
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Calgary | Calgary | Alberta | Not yet recruiting |
| University of Alberta | Edmonton | Alberta | Not yet recruiting |
| Centre Hospitalier de l'Universite de Montreal (CHUM) | Montreal | Quebec | Not yet recruiting |
| North York General Hospital | Toronto | Ontario | Not yet recruiting |
| University of British Columbia | Vancouver | British Columbia | Not yet recruiting |
Czechia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vseobecna Fakultni Nemocnice V Praze | Prague | Not yet recruiting |
France
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire D'Angers | Angers | Not yet recruiting | |
| CHU Henri Mondor (APHP) | Créteil | Not yet recruiting | |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Grenoble Alpes | La Tronche | Not yet recruiting | |
| Centre Hospitalier Regional De Marseille | Marseille | Not yet recruiting |
Germany
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Universitaetsklinikum Aachen AöR | Aachen | Not yet recruiting | |
| Katholisches Klinikum Bochum gGmbH | Bochum | Not yet recruiting | |
| Universitätsklinikum Erlangen | Erlangen | Not yet recruiting | |
| George-Huntington-Institut GmbH | Münster | Not yet recruiting | |
| Isar Amper Klinikum | Taufkirchen | Not yet recruiting | |
| Universitaetsklinikum Ulm AöR | Ulm | Not yet recruiting |
Italy
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Azienda Unita Sanitaria Locale Di Bologna | Bologna | Not yet recruiting | |
| IRCCS Istituto Auxologico Italiano | Milan | Not yet recruiting | |
| Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Federico II Di Napoli | Naples | Not yet recruiting | |
| Azienda Ospedale Università di Padova | Padova | Not yet recruiting | |
| Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS | Roma | Not yet recruiting | |
| Casa Sollievo Della Sofferenza | San Giovanni Rotondo | Not yet recruiting |
Netherlands
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leids Universitair Medisch Centrum (LUMC) | Leiden | Not yet recruiting |
Poland
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krakowska Akademia Neurologii Sp. z o.o. | Krakow | Not yet recruiting | |
| Wojskowy Instytut Medycyny Lotniczej | Warsaw | Not yet recruiting |
Portugal
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unidade Local De Saude De Coimbra E.P.E | Coimbra | Not yet recruiting | |
| Unidade Local De Saude De Santa Maria E.P.E. | Lisbon | Not yet recruiting | |
| Unidade Local De Saude De Santo Antonio E.P.E. | Porto | Not yet recruiting | |
| CNS Saude Lda. | Torres Vedras | Not yet recruiting |
Spain
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital Universitario De Cruces | Barakaldo | Not yet recruiting | |
| Hospital De La Santa Creu I Sant Pau | Barcelona | Not yet recruiting | |
| Hospital Universitario Ramon Y Cajal | Madrid | Not yet recruiting | |
| Hospital Universitario Central De Asturias | Oviedo | Not yet recruiting | |
| Hospital Universitario Virgen del Rocío | Seville | Not yet recruiting |
United Kingdom
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| NHS Grampian | Aberdeen | Not yet recruiting | |
| Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation NHS Trust | Birmingham | Not yet recruiting | |
| Cardiff University | Cardiff | Not yet recruiting | |
| The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust | Liverpool | Not yet recruiting | |
| CNTW NHS Foundation Trust | Newcastle upon Tyne | Not yet recruiting |
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Johns Hopkins University | Baltimore | Maryland | Not yet recruiting |
| The University of Alabama at Birmingham | Birmingham | Alabama | Not yet recruiting |
| University of Miami-U Health Boca Raton | Boca Raton | Florida | Not yet recruiting |
| University of Vermont Medical Center | Burlington | Vermont | Not yet recruiting |
| Massachusetts General Hospital | Charlestown | Massachusetts | Not yet recruiting |
| Rush University Medical Center | Chicago | Illinois | Not yet recruiting |
| Northwestern University | Chicago | Illinois | Not yet recruiting |
| University of Cincinnati | Cincinnati | Ohio | Not yet recruiting |
| Cleveland Clinic | Cleveland | Ohio | Not yet recruiting |
16 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- August 7, 2026
Status changed
Status changed from Not yet recruiting to Recruiting
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- August 7, 2026
Recruitment opened
Recruitment opened
NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING
- August 7, 2026
Site added
66 sites added (66 total)
066