NCT07667803ClinicalTrials.gov
A Master Protocol to Investigate Efficacy and Safety of Elecoglipron in Participants With Obesity or Overweight With or Without T2DM
A Phase III Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Multicenter Master Protocol to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Elecoglipron in Participants With Obesity or Overweight With or Without Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus (Embold)
In brief
This master study protocol, Study D7260C00015, covers 2 independent, pivotal studies, Study 1 and Study 2. Each study is a global, randomized, double-blind, parallel-group, multicenter, Phase III study to assess the efficacy and safety of elecoglipron compared with placebo adjunct…
Phase 34,500 participants sought325 sites19 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07667803Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 weeks ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-06-25; recorded start 2026-06-29
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 1019 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (AstraZeneca)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding16/20
Triple-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 321 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 4,500 participants (target), run at 325 sites, across 19 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment35/40
4,500 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
321 sites
- Country count15/15
19 countries
- Planned duration8/10
Planned over about 38 months
- Sponsor scale10/10
AstraZeneca has led 991 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This master study protocol, Study D7260C00015, covers 2 independent, pivotal studies, Study 1 and Study 2. Each study is a global, randomized, double-blind, parallel-group, multicenter, Phase III study to assess the efficacy and safety of elecoglipron compared with placebo adjunct to diet and exercise for weight management, in adults living with obesity or overweight with at least one weight-related comorbidity, and without T2DM (Study 1) or with T2DM (Study 2).
Conditions
- Weight Management
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | TRIPLE (3) |
| Enrolment | 4,500 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- AstraZeneca Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Arm 1 - Dose 1EXPERIMENTAL
Active IMP
- Arm 2 - Dose 2EXPERIMENTAL
Active IMP
- Arm 3 - PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
Placebo matching elecoglipron
Interventions
- Drug Elecoglipron
Elecoglipron film-coated tablet once daily
- Drug Placebo
Placebo matching elecoglipron film-coated tablet once daily
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Percent body weight loss
Percent change from baseline to Week 72 in body weight
Time frame 72 weeks
Secondary outcome
Absolute body weight loss
Absolute change from baseline to Week 72 in body weight (kg)
Time frame 72 weeks
Secondary outcome
Total body weight loss of at least 5%, 10%, and 15%
* Achieved ≥ 5% body weight loss from baseline at Week 72 * Achieved ≥ 10% body weight loss from baseline at Week 72 * Achieved ≥ 15% body weight loss from baseline at Week 72
Time frame 72 weeks
Secondary outcome
Percent body weight loss in participants with body mass index (BMI) ≥ 27 kg/m2 at baseline
Percent change from baseline to Week 72 in body weight
Time frame 72 weeks
Secondary outcome
Waist circumference reduction
Absolute change from baseline to Week 72 in waist circumference (cm)
Time frame 72 weeks
Secondary outcome
Glycemic control
Change from baseline to Week 72 in hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c) (%)
Time frame 72 weeks
Secondary outcome
Achieving normoglycemia in participants with HbA1c ≥ 5.7% (39 mmol/mol) at baseline
Achieved normoglycemia (HbA1c \< 5.7% \[39 mmol/mol\]) at Week 72
Time frame 72 weeks
Secondary outcome
Study 2 only: Achieving glycemic control in participants with HbA1c ≥ 7.0% (53 mmol/mol) at baseline
* Achieved HbA1c \< 7.0% (53 mmol/mol) at Week 72 * Achieved HbA1c ≤ 6.5% (48 mmol/mol) at Week 72
Time frame 72 weeks
Secondary outcome
Systolic blood pressure reduction
Change from baseline to Week 72 in systolic blood pressure (mmHg)
Time frame 72 weeks
Dates
| Start date | June 29, 2026 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | July 31, 2028 (estimated) |
| Completion | July 30, 2029 (estimated) |
| First posted | June 25, 2026 (actual) |
| Last updated | September 9, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | September 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
109 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | CABA | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | CABA | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | Caba | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | Capital Federal | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | Granadero Baigorria | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Lanus | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Rosario | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | Rosario | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | San Nicolás | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | San Vicente | Not yet recruiting |
Australia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Botany | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | Camberwell | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | Charlestown | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | Maroubra | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | St Albans | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | St Leonards | Recruiting |
Brazil
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Belém | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Brasília | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Campinas | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Campinas | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Curitiba | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Fortaleza | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Porto Alegre | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | São José dos Campos | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | São Paulo | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | São Paulo | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | São Paulo | Not yet recruiting |
Canada
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Brampton | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Calgary | Alberta | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Calgary | Alberta | Not yet recruiting |
| Research Site | Hamilton | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Joliette | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Moncton | New Brunswick | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Niagara Falls | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Research Site | North York | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Saint-Lambert | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Sarnia | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Scarborough Village | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Stouffville | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Terrebonne | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Truro | Nova Scotia | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Vancouver | British Columbia | Recruiting |
| Research Site | Victoria | British Columbia | Recruiting |
Chile
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Araucania | Not yet recruiting |
275 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- September 9, 2026
Site added
4 sites added (325 total)
321325