Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT07761117ClinicalTrials.gov

A Study to Investigate CV Outcomes With Elecoglipron Compared With Placebo in Adult Participants With HFpEF or HFmrEF

A Phase III, Randomized, Double-blind, Parallel-group, Placebo-controlled, Multicenter Study to Evaluate the Effect of Elecoglipron in Reducing Cardiovascular Outcomes in Participants With HFpEF and HFmrEF (Elevate-HF)

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

This is a Phase III, randomized, double-blind, parallel-group, placebo-controlled, multicenter study to investigate CV outcomes with elecoglipron compared with placebo, in adults with heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF)/heart failure with mildly reduced ejection fraction (HFmrEF), irrespective of T2DM…

Phase 36,950 participants sought672 sites32 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-08-12; recorded start 2026-08-24
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 1019 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (AstraZeneca)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 2 conditions.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourDEFINITIVE

A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding20/20

    Quadruple-blind

  • Control arm15/15

    Active-comparator control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type10/10

    Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 366 sites

  • Data monitoring committee7/7

    A data monitoring committee is in place

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleLARGE

A large study, international in scope: 6,950 participants (target), run at 672 sites, across 32 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment37/40

    6,950 participants (target)

  • Site count25/25

    366 sites

  • Country count15/15

    25 countries

  • Planned duration8/10

    Planned over about 37 months

  • Sponsor scale10/10

    AstraZeneca has led 1,005 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

This is a Phase III, randomized, double-blind, parallel-group, placebo-controlled, multicenter study to investigate CV outcomes with elecoglipron compared with placebo, in adults with heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF)/heart failure with mildly reduced ejection fraction (HFmrEF), irrespective of T2DM status, and who are on background dapagliflozin in addition to other background standard of care.

Conditions

  • Heart Failure With Preserved Ejection Fraction (HFpEF)
  • Heart Failure With Mildly Reduced Ejection Fraction (HFmrEF)

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 YearsNo maximum
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria: * Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) of \> 40% within 12 months prior to screening. * Structural heart disease evidence. * HF diagnosed with New York Heart Association (NYHA) Class II-IV at the time of screening. Exclusion Criteria: * BMI \<25 kg/m² at screening. * Diabetes exclusions: * History of type 1 diabetes. * HbA1c ≥10% at screening. * Currently receiving or anticipated to receive therapeutic intervention for diabetic retinopathy and/or macular edema. * more than 1 episode of severe hypoglycemic event within 180 days prior to screening, or hypoglycemia unawareness/poor recognition. * Renal exclusions: * On a prespecified renal replacement therapy, or eGFR below a prespecified threshold at screening * Cardiovascular exclusions: * Major cardiac surgery, coronary revascularization, valvular repair/replacement, AF/AFL ablation, CRT implantation, or ICD without CRT within 90 days prior to screening, or planned after randomization. * Heart failure due to infiltrative cardiomyopathy, active myocarditis, constrictive pericarditis, cardiac tamponade, genetic hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (including obstructive), or arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy/dysplasia. * GI exclusions: * Clinically significant upper GI condition affecting gastric emptying, drug absorption, or safety/tolerability interpretation; chronic use of drugs directly affecting GI motility; severe disease or prior surgery. * History of acute or chronic pancreatitis. * Endocrine exclusions: * History/ family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma (MTC) or multiple endocrine neoplasia type 2, or basal calcitonin ≥35 ng/L at screening.

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingQUADRUPLE (4)
Enrolment6,950 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • AstraZeneca Sponsor

Arms and interventions

  • ElecoglipronEXPERIMENTAL

    Elecoglipron tablet once daily

  • PlaceboACTIVE_COMPARATOR

    Placebo matching Elecoglipron tablet once daily

Interventions

  • Drug Elecoglipron

    Elecoglipron tablet

  • Drug Placebo

    Placebo tablet

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    To evaluate the effect of elecoglipron compared with placebo in reducing the risk of CV death or HHF/urgent HF visit

    Time to first event of the composite of: * CV death * HHF * Urgent HF visit

    Time frame Up to 42 months

  2. Secondary outcome

    To evaluate the effect of elecoglipron compared with placebo in reducing the rate of HF events (HHF or urgent HF visit)

    Total occurrences (first and recurrent) of: * HF events * HHF * Urgent HF visit

    Time frame Up to 42 months

  3. Secondary outcome

    To evaluate the effect of elecoglipron compared to placebo on improving patient-reported outcomes using a questionnaire.

    Change from baseline to Week 52

    Time frame Baseline and 52 weeks

  4. Secondary outcome

    To evaluate the effect of elecoglipron compared with placebo in reducing the risk of the 4-point composite of all-cause death, HHF, MI, or stroke

    Time to first event of the composite of: * All-cause death * HHF * MI * Stroke

    Time frame Up to 42 months

Dates

Dates
Start dateAugust 24, 2026 (actual)
Primary completionSeptember 3, 2029 (estimated)
CompletionSeptember 3, 2029 (estimated)
First postedAugust 12, 2026 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 9, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedSeptember 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

11 sites are recruiting

Argentina

Argentina
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteBuenos AiresNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCABANot yet recruiting
Research SiteCiudad de Buenos AiresNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCiudad de Buenos AiresNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCorrientesNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCórdobaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCórdobaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCórdobaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteEsperanzaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteGranadero BaigorriaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteLanusNot yet recruiting
Research SiteMar del PlataNot yet recruiting
Research SiteMendozaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteRosarioNot yet recruiting
Research SiteRosarioNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSan NicolásNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSanta FeNot yet recruiting

Australia

Australia
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteBlacktownNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCampbelltownNot yet recruiting
Research SiteFrankstonNot yet recruiting
Research SiteHoppers CrossingNot yet recruiting
Research SiteNorth TamworthNot yet recruiting
Research SiteRockhamptonNot yet recruiting

Austria

Austria
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteBad IschlNot yet recruiting
Research SiteFeldkirchNot yet recruiting
Research SiteGrazNot yet recruiting
Research SiteGrazNot yet recruiting
Research SiteInnsbruckNot yet recruiting
Research SiteKlagenfurtNot yet recruiting
Research SiteLinzNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSaint Stefan/StainzNot yet recruiting
Research SiteSankt PöltenNot yet recruiting
Research SiteViennaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteViennaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteViennaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteViennaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteWelsNot yet recruiting

Brazil

Brazil
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Research SiteAracajuNot yet recruiting
Research SiteBelémNot yet recruiting
Research SiteBragança PaulistaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteBrasíliaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCampinasNot yet recruiting
Research SiteCuritibaNot yet recruiting
Research SiteJoinvilleNot yet recruiting
Research SiteNatalNot yet recruiting
Research SitePorto AlegreNot yet recruiting
Research SitePorto AlegreNot yet recruiting
Research SiteRibeirão PretoNot yet recruiting
Research SiteRio BrancoNot yet recruiting
Research SiteRio de JaneiroNot yet recruiting

622 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 9, 2026

    Status changed

    Status changed from Not yet recruiting to Recruiting

    NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING

  2. September 9, 2026

    Recruitment opened

    Recruitment opened

    NOT_YET_RECRUITINGRECRUITING

  3. September 9, 2026

    Site added

    306 sites added (672 total)

    366672